Lacie, good or bad

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Jesus, Jan 25, 2006.

Are Lacie HDs good external HDs??

1. Lacie HDs are good.

92 vote(s)
  2. Lacie HDs are terrible.

16 vote(s)
  1. Jesus macrumors 6502

I am considering buying a Lacie HD for my new iMac core duo, and in these forums I have noticed that there have been alot of comments obout how good or bad they are, and before I buy one I need an impirical answer, please.
  2. iGary Guest

May 26, 2004
    Randy's House
  3. zelmo macrumors 603

Jul 3, 2004
    Mac since 7.5
    I've been using a 160GB D2 Triple Interface for a couple of years, I guess. Not whisper quiet, but not exactly annoyingly loud, either. Performance and reliability have been excellent.

I'd imagine those 500GB and 1TB drives get quite noisy, though.
  4. NP3 macrumors regular

Jul 12, 2003
    Los Angeles
    I bought a 500GB Bigger Disk with two Firewire 800 ports a year and 3 months ago.
    Their warranty lasts one year and both firewire 800 ports malfunctioned right at the one year mark--leaving me to edit dvcpro HD footage at firewire 400. GRRRR. Go with a hard drive that still has a four year warranty---i think seagate still has them.

I've heard about lots of random bad stuff happening to Lacie's....problems with the power supplies, disk errors, also that they're more fragile.
  5. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

Mar 6, 2005
    Lacie is a very good company there products are well designed and usually work well, I have had experience with there external DVD writers and they have been great unfortunatly I have never used a Lacie HD but i'm sure they are very good,

6. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

Aug 20, 2005
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    I like their HD but its starting to make a lot of noise now but its fast enough.

7. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

Jan 8, 2005
    On the moon.
    They sound like nails grinding across a chalkboard.
  8. iGary Guest

May 26, 2004
    Randy's House