LaCie WILL NOT POWER UP!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by nlystad, Oct 22, 2003.

  1. nlystad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #1
    I have a LaCie d2 external drive and work with a Mac G5 (10.2.7), and the drive is about a month old. Today when I came into work, I booted up and the LaCie did not boot up. I tried this several times, then disconnected the power cords and plugged back in and then powered up and still nothing. I try to push the blue button on the front and it doesn't power up. The power strip cord on the LaCie is lit up, but the drive doesn't seem to be getting power. Any clue what could be wrong or what else I should try? I'm praying it's a fluke and it'll come up on the next restart.

    In the event that it's down for good - can anyone recommend a good external data recovery company?

    thanks
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    First thing I'd do is call LaCie. Just because the case isn't powering up doesn't mean that the disk isn't functional, so don't get ahead of yourself.
     
  3. nlystad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #3
    I called LaCie this morning and all they are doing is sending a new power cord/firewire for the LaCie. I'm stumped because it's always worked. Was it something I was doing wrong? Are there rules to using the LaCie, (mounting/unmounting) I'm not aware of? Is this a common problem?
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    I've have 3 LaCie FW drives and the only problems I've had is one of them loves to spin down, despite me telling it not to. There's no real tricks to using them.. Like any other external drive, always unmount the drive before disconnecting it or turning it off. Keep your chaining limited because of signal issues (something like 20 feet). I seriously doubt it was anything that you did.. something these things just happen.
     
  5. nlystad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #5
    Perhaps this is why! I always just shut down at night and don't trash the external drive. It's the first one I've had so I had no clue I was to do that - and the directions don't indicate to do that. Did I cause real damage? I had no idea!
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    No, that should be ok.. when shutting down the computer, the OS will sanely unmount the drives.
     
  7. nlystad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #7
    That's good news! Maybe the FW just went bad. Does this happen often? I've never heard of the cord just freaking out like this. I am hoping I can get it back up soon!! Thanks for calming me down!
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    If it won't power up, I'd suspect the power supply (either the case's connection to the transformer or the transformer itself) and nothing else. Cables do "go bad" on occasion. I wouldn't freak until you have more info on what the problem might be.
     
  9. nlystad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #9
    Are these things that need the unit to be sent in for? And if so, will they want to reformat the drive after? I'm hoping they can fix the problem w/o reformatting the drive. (you've been a great help)
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    It is possible that they will need to replace the case, but they shouldn't reformat the drive.
     
  11. nlystad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #11
    Oh good! How long does something like this generally take? cost? (or is it covered by warranty?)
     
  12. joeyjojoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    it should be covered in warranty if you purchased it less than a year ago (which you did).
     
  13. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #13
    May be the power supply.

    If it's a standard ATA drive inside the case, they should allow you to remove the drive to recover the contents.

    You can probably use the G5s Optical drives ATA connection to recover to the SATA drive.

    Or if you want to recover to a DVD, you can use a new ATA cable with the slave connection and a drive power splitter to place the drive as a slave on the optical chain.
     

Share This Page