Lack of 3G Connectivity on iOS 6.1 (T-Mobile)?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Kevin813, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    #1
    When I was on iOS 6.01 on my iPhone 5, I could easily connect to 3g (T-Mobile). The connection wouldn't be that strong, maybe like 3 bars, but i was at least 80x faster than edge. Toggling the 3G on/off button, I would see a small circle where the E was, then it would be 3G. Now in 6.1, i can never get 3G in the areas i use to. It does not even show the small circle where the Edge is supposed to be, and I am always stuck on edge. Is this only me, or has this happened to anyone else?
     
  2. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    That sounds more like a phone issue.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Am3r1ca16

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    i have perfect bars on 3G. in iOS 6.0.1 i had issues where in some places it would say AT&T in the carrier since its factory unlocked iphone 4S instead of T-Mobile. but luckily that same day they released 6.1 beta 1 and it fixed the issue
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #4
    T-Mobile 3G Reception Issue with iOS 6.1

    I am having the EXACT same problem! I spent an hour on the phone with Apple Technical Support & T-Mobile Technical Support via a 3-way conference call & they deducted that the problem was the carrier version update packet contained within iOS 6.1. It was upgraded from 13.0 to 14.0.

    What I did to try & remedy the problem was research how to 'revert' my Carrier Version from 14.0 back to 13.0 by replacing 5 files in the root directory (obviously the phone has to be JailBroken). Anyway, when I replaced the files I rebooted & observed that although the Carrier Version DID now read 13.0, the 3G reception STILL SUCKED!!!

    Apple & T-Mobile better get together & figure this out if they plan on becoming partners!!!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    #5
    Really? When i upgraded to 6.1, i always noticed the carrier update, but never knew that was the source of the problem!
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    #6
    Same with me here. My connectivity has been pretty bad since updating to 6.1 My sister used the 4, which hasn't been updated, has very strong signal comparing to mine. We are both on the same network w/ T-Mobile.
     

Share This Page