Lag during gaming

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jenn221, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. jenn221 macrumors member

    jenn221

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    I am more familiar with Macs than with PC's because it's what I have always known. However, I am not good when it comes to computer "lingo." I'm not exactly sure what RAM is, or what it does, or how it relates to speed, space on my hard drive, etc... So please help me keeping that in mind :)

    So I have an 14" iBook G4, it's about 3 years old. I play World of Warcraft a lot. I don't usually have a problem with game lag, but I recently tried using Skype along with it so I can talk to the people I'm playing with. But whenever I do, the game lags out too badly to continue running Skype. Since I don't have a very large knowledge of the innerworkings of my computer, I'm wondering if there is any way for me to fix this problem....:confused:

    I would appreciate any help anyone can give me! Thanks!

    Jenn
     
  2. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #2
    If you have iBook G4, it's about 3 years old. I think it time to upgrade or just deal with it
     
  3. jenn221 thread starter macrumors member

    jenn221

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #3
    Well I'd like to do that soon, but it isn't going to be an option financially for a little while. Is there anything that can be done in the meantime? Something I can add to my computer, or a program I can run to clean things up?
     
  4. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #4
    How much ram do you have installed and what iBook do you have?
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    It's nothing to do with your machine. Skype is using too much of your internet bandwidth for WoW to get data to and from the server. Either get a faster (both up and down) connection of quite Skype when playing. It may not be an absolute speed issue with your connection, but latency and Skype is just showing it up...
     
  6. jenn221 thread starter macrumors member

    jenn221

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #6
    under "about this mac" it says 640 MB DDR SDRAM.

    I'm not sure what kind other than iBook G4.

    To get a faster connection, would that just mean upgrading the internet service that I have?
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Probably. What speed/quality of connection do you have now?
     
  8. jenn221 thread starter macrumors member

    jenn221

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #8
    ummm.... I forget. :eek: How would I check that?
     
  9. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    There's no direct way of asking your Mac. You might be able to find out from your router, but every router is different. An online speed test (Google for one) would give an indication but that's not reliable...
     
  10. jenn221 thread starter macrumors member

    jenn221

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #10
    Well one test told me 3.2-3.5 MB per second.

    Another said 2978.1 Kbps.... those seem like very different results, right??

    I'm sorry if I sound like an idiot, I just haven't found an understanding for this technical computer stuff yet. My dad tries to explain it to me all the time, and it sinks in only a little bit at a time.
     
  11. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    They're around the same. 2978.1 Kbps is more or less 3Mb/s. What was the upload speed? That may be much more important. If you have Skype running what does Activity Monitor say your network usage is?
     
  12. jenn221 thread starter macrumors member

    jenn221

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #12
    Ok, so while making a test call in Skype, and with the activity monitor open, my data sent/sec anf data recieved/sec varied between 5 KBps and 10 KBps.... that sounds much higher than what I just told you before.... Am I looking at the right thing in my activity monitor? When I just have Skype running but am not on the phone, it sits at zero Bytes.
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Sounds very low. That would be having very little effect on the overall connection.

    I'm not sure what else to suggest though. If you quite Skype and it runs fine then that it's clearly causing the problem...
     
  14. jenn221 thread starter macrumors member

    jenn221

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #14
    Well I appreciate you trying to help. I just know that lots of people run Skype with WoW and don't have a problem.... or at least not as much as I do. If anyone else reads this and has some suggestions or answers as to why it's a problem for me, I'd appreciate it.

    For now I'll just continue running WoW and Skype seperatly, until I upgrade my computer or internet and then I'll try again!
     

Share This Page