Laptop with 6.8GHz CPU and 2TB storage?!

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by gekko513, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #1
    This has to be some kind of joke, right?
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    seeing as there isn't any 6.8Ghz chips that i know of. its a joke
     
  3. witness macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Austria
    #3
    This is a hoax, just look at the pictures of the 3.5mm audio jack that is supposed to be the memory store.

    I'm just surprised that so many news sites seem to be reporting this.
     
  4. thedude110 macrumors 68020

    thedude110

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    #4
    Only 2 tb? I've gotta have at least 3 tb before I go quantum ...
     
  5. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #5
    Oh, for pete's sake...this is one of the clumsiest hoaxes ever. We're obviously experiencing a news media "slow day"...

    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    and :rolleyes: for good measure.
     
  6. gekko513 thread starter macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #6
    Me and my colleague just looked around at the "evidence" that could make this plausible. There is a patent from 1996 for quantum optical storage filed by the guy and the company has booked a booth at the CES in January.

    However, from some of the other stuff, like that component page, it is clear that this must be a hoax. It's kind of fun, though.
     
  7. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #7
    lol, their "We are #1" banner at the top of the site is the best. :p
     
  8. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  9. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9
    Definitely a hoax.

    I like how you can order it with four 1.7GHz Intel Penitum M's if you dont want the standard Quantum II CPU- right! :rolleyes:

    The article was good for laugh though. :D
     
  10. Don't panic macrumors 603

    Don't panic

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Location:
    having a drink at Milliways
    #10
    hey, but the
    " The NvIOpRAM [ATA IDE] products have the selling price of $2.50 per 1GB."
    can't beat that!
     
  11. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    what the hell type of company would make a 6.8GHz quantum laptop and run windows on it, tis total BS.
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12
    True. Why make such a serious piece of machinery and then install a piece of s**t OS on it? Makes no sense!
     
  13. jiv3turkey748 macrumors 6502a

    jiv3turkey748

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Location:
    atlanta
    #13
    it says they got 64gb of ramin a windows server

    total bs
     
  14. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #14
    I would not even trust Windows w/ 64GB of RAM. :eek: ;)
    Just think of how many viruses it could store in there. :eek:
     
  15. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #15
    seeing is how there is no way in hell that widows 32bit could support 1TB of ram.... Ya... I still don't understand how this got on /. geez.
     
  16. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #16
    Everything gets on Slashdot :rolleyes:
     
  17. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #17
    :p I hate it when they make hoaxes completely unbelievable.

    A laptop with a normal LCD, a 2GHz Pentium and a 40GB solid state hard drive with an OLED keyboard and 8 hours battery life would have half the geeks in the world drooling... and at least might be able to suspend disbelief a bit.
     
  18. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #18
    Yes, that would have been a better distortion of the truth. ;) :)
     
  19. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #19
    there are servers out there that have 64 gb of ram you have just never seen one :p

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserver2003/evaluation/sysreqs/default.mspx

    the max ram for Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard x64 Edition and
    Windows Server 2003 R2 Datacenter x64 Edition is 1 TB
     
  20. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #20
    shrug, got me... 10^(-9) * 10^(-6)m which makes no sense.
     
  21. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #21
    i think it would surprise what windows servers actually have that memory and what they run...then a worms hits and people take a dump.
     
  22. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #22
    These guys have been making outrageous claims for years, and it's always "coming soon". I'll believe it when I see it. I remember seeing something about an 64GB SD card from them at a howstuffworks review of CES last year I think. Anyways, crap, crap, crap
     
  23. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #23
    A femto/fermi.
     
  24. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
  25. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #25
    64GB SD Card? Ya, these guys are real credible. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page