Large temperature difference between Dual G5 Cores

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 50thVert, Feb 21, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    Hey every1,
    Lately ive been noticing something weird on my Dual 2.5 Powermac. Under high loads, Temperature Monitor will report High 80-90*C on CPU 1, and no more than 75*C on CPU 2. Should i be worried?

    -Zach
     
  2. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    No, the "A" cpu gets used more heavily buy the system.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    I realize that the "A" CPU is more heavily used and that it is the first in the cooling loop so its temps will be higher, but lately its been a larger differential. Before when both CPUs are >98% load, ive seen a 7-9*C difference in temp, not a >25*C difference.
     
  4. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    I don't have a dual core chip (I have a dual 2.7), but I can have as much as 30 degrees F difference between the two. I wouldn't sweat it, and Apple will tell you the same thing. ;)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    Meant to say i have a dual-chip 2.5. Thanks for the input iGary! :)
     
  6. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #6
    No worries, it freaked me out at first, too. ;)
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #7
    Here's my take on processor temps... stop checking them.

    I had this nagging urge to check my temps when I built my own PCs. I wanted to make sure everything was performing properly. When I got my first two Macs, I did the same thing. Eventually I realized that these systems are custom built to run at the proper temperatures. You'll know if something goes wrong when it automagically puts itself to sleep.

    For now... quit! You're just going to drive yourself batty.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    Haha, guess i still have a few Overclocking habits stuck in my system!
     

Share This Page