Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by mjhinnant, Aug 7, 2004.

1. mjhinnant macrumors newbie

Aug 7, 2004
    I plan on doing a lot of BW and Color print jobs.

Should I get a color laser printer for all my printing or should I get a BW laser printer also?
  2. homerjward macrumors 68030

May 11, 2004
    fig tree
    what kind of print jobs? unless u do an incredible amount of printing it's not cost-effective to get laser as opposed to a good inkjet printer.
  3. mjhinnant thread starter macrumors newbie

Aug 7, 2004
    Pretty large jobs. Hundreds to a few thousand.

I am a graphic designer and own an advertising company. I am going to start printing some jobs myself to avoid the vendor cost of printers.
  4. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

Mar 13, 2004
    You might check this out, could be worthwhile to you.
  5. flyfish29 macrumors 68020

Feb 4, 2003
    New HAMpshire
    Laser printers are by far the most cost effective printers when doing large amounts of black and white prints.- no comparison. Toner cartridges cost much more per cartridge, but do hundreds if not thousands more than a typical ink jet, not to mention that ink jets are not as clear when it comes to quality. I don't know for sure about color lasers, but I would assume the same.

Actually for anyone that does any decent amount of printing it is cost effective in the long run for lasers, but there is more up front cost. But for the average printer a laser cartridge can last years unlike the $30-50 ink jet cartridge that can last months.

Do a google search for laser vs ink jet printer cost and I bet you come up with many web sites that examine the cost of both. Mac world often does a comparison of cost per print and I know for sure the per print cost is cheaper for laser every time.

Laser printers tend to be better quailty products as well as long as you get a decent one.