Last questions befor I purchase a Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hdsalinas, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #1
    Hi,

    I made up my mind, I am getting the 2.0 Ghz C2D Macbook.
    This will be my first laptop and my first mac (well, had a classic II once).

    Here are a few questions that I have before I get one of these babies

    About the Intel GMA 950 "video card":

    1) How well is the performance when running two screens at once? I have a 17" LCD with a resolution of 1280x1024 that I plan to use it with.I wan to use it as an extended desktop and also mirroring.

    2) VISTA. How well does Vista runs on it. Does it support aero. As you may know, Vista ranks your PCs hardware with a number from 1 to 5, what number do you get with a macbook. Not planning on using Windows much, the point of getting a mac is not having to deal with it but is nice to know that my Mac will be ablle to tacle it.

    3) Is the perfomace rom this video card enough for all the OS "animations"

    4) Will it hinder the performace of Photoshop?

    5) Where the quality issues solved with the previous version of the coreduo macbook. (rss and discoloration)

    6) Are there a list of games that run well on it. I knwo that this is not a gamer s notebook, I am not big on games, but it would ne nice to play a few once in a while.

    thanks for all your help.
     
  2. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #2
    If you're concerned about Photoshop/Vista performance I would upgrade your RAM.

    The GMA 950 is perfectly fine for the eye candy in OS X.
     
  3. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #3
    Yes I will upgrade the ram later on.

    I would go ahead and order it with 2GB ram, but my problem is that since I live outside the US, apple's website wont accept my credit card. My dad will be in the US early december so I am asking him to pick me one from CompUSA or Best Buy.

    Thanks anyways Demon Hunter,
     
  4. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #4
    1. - I run a 19" 1440x900 external monitor with no problems
    2. - I gather it runs fine, and includes all theeye candy, but someone else might have to confirm that.
    3. - Yep
    4. - Not a bit. PS is processor bound. The lack of Universal Binary will have more effect.
    5. - Don't know, but I have week 36 MacBook and there are no issues. There is some discolouration (dirt), but that's because I haven't cleaned it.
    6. - Dunno. I have Rise of Natioons, but havent gotten round to using it yet. There is a thread here somwhere with games that have been tested on a MacBook.

    the only other adivce is get lots of ram if you intend using photoshop, and enjoy.
    Good luck in your impending purchase.
     
  5. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #5
    There are several international stores. there might be one for your country
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    1. Make sure to get as much RAM as possible.

    2. The GMA 950 should be able to run Aero acceptably if you get a lot of system RAM. Windows will allocate enough to video RAM then.

    3. There's a little slowdown when compared to the 9600/X1600.

    4. NO

    6. It depends on their compatibility with the software rendering.
     
  7. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #7
    Nope,

    Nothing for Honduras (Central América)

    In fact, there is not a single apple web store for Latin America.
    Had the same problem with Itunes. Itunes is great but I cant purchase anything.

    Apple please consider us too. We also have access to the internet and credit cards.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Mexico has a store but it's up to you to consider if it's Latin America or not. :rolleyes:

    *Spanish Literature Major / IT Minor*
     
  9. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #9
    Mexico does not has an Apple Store. Only re-sellers.
     
  10. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    Ah physical stores. The Apple page is rather useless too.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Aero
     
  12. kalun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #12
    Don't Do IT!!!! You will regret it forever!!!!

    Okay, aside from the joke, regrading question 6. If you wish to play any new FPS game, I think you maybe better off with Macbook Pro or any other brand laptop with a better graphic card. I've personally played wow/wc3/civ4 on a Macbook. Under bootcamp, it performance alright. Hope it helps.
     
  13. paeza macrumors regular

    paeza

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #13
    what about RSS and heat problem????

    Anyone knows about it pls tell
     
  14. patmort02 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    #14
    As far as your sixth question goes, I have tried a few games under bootcamp. I use the macbook in my sig and Half Life 2 runs surprisingly well. There is a bit of slowdown in some outdoor environments, but other than that it plays pretty smoothly.
    I had trouble running CS: Source so I'm not sure about that one.
    Rome: Total War runs decently. It's a bit choppy, but certainly playable.
    Battlefield 2 will not run. I believe this is because macbooks do not have a dedicated video card.

    I'm sure you will be satisfied since you are not big into gaming since mostly all older and some current gen games will run just fine on the macbooks.
     
  15. PodHead macrumors member

    PodHead

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    #15
    There is a way around this...you have to buy american itunes gift certificates (from folks in the states or ebay) then create an american account on itunes. Make up an address if you have to. Use the codes on the gift certificates to make american itunes purchases:D
     
  16. oligore macrumors member

    oligore

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #16
    This is just plain core duo isn't it?
     

Share This Page