Latest Adobe Flash 11.5 PPC [Testers please]

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Wildy, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. Wildy, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #1
    [EDIT2] Should now be working fine - make sure you remove the old version from the plugin directory - gave me a headache trying to figure why it was still reporting an old version!

    [​IMG]

    I've managed to update our beloved 10.1 plugin to spoof a version of 11.5.502 (current Adobe build). I don't use Flash much, so I'm not sure what functionality they've introduced since 10.1 and thus some sites which actually require these newer features may not work. I have yet to come across one though.

    Installation is simple, just replace the existing plugin with the one in the archive. Installation instructions and info are in the download.

    Download: http://scriptogr.am/nordkril/post/adobe-flash-11.5-for-powerpc
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    This would still have all the security vulnerabilities of 10.1 which are many and you want to spread this? Why would any informed person ever want to use this? Do you always share your colds and sickness with people also? That wouldn't be as bad as spreading this.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #3
    The only difference to the current version is the identifier string, correct?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #4
    Yes, it's plain old 10.1 under the hood, but the identifier string has been changed to report back that it is 11.5 in order to work with websites which restrict their content to only those running the latest version of Flash.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #5
    And if people didn't use this, they would use 10.1- the security vulnerabilities are the same, the functionality is greater.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #6
    Ignore the troll - they'll get bored eventually xD
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #7
    Or, in this case, banned!
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #8
    appears to be working good for me, I was hoping someone would update this hack as I was starting to get those unwanted "Update your Flash version" messages again.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #9
    It works as described.

    Both Firefox and Aurora report the latest version of Shockwave Flash is installed, both when running Tiger and Leopard on a G5.

    Many sites that deny access until you install the current version of Flash become usable, BUT sites that have installed the latest Flash to run on their servers, do NOT work, especially if they are using brand new features.

    So this is a great help, but it still stinks that both Apple and Adobe no longer support PPC, and I imagine a real hack to convert/run the Intel version is impossible.

    Thanks for what you did make available!
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    ChrisMan287

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY.
    #10
    I would give this a try but Flash installer keeps failing on me :(
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #11
    Thanks for testing guys!

    @ChrisMan287 - Are you having problems getting the official Flash player on there in the first place? I was under the impression that the plugin was self-contained - so it might still work if you took the plugin in the archive and dropped it in the relevant folder.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    ChrisMan287

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY.
    #12
    Yup, official one is giving me trouble. TenFourFox doesn't support it anyway (I don't think) but I was going to install another browser to test for you. Weird issue..
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #13
    Tiff actually does support flash Google flash in ten four fox on Ppc and you have to go into plugin preferences and make it true
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #14
    I can't download it :(

    facebook is not using it yet, neither youtube, vimeo, hulu.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #15
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #16
    Hmm that is indeed very strange. I just gave it a try and that site is working fine for me. What browser / OS are you using?
     
  17. macrumors member

    cyberghoser1

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Hellas
    #17
    thanks, working great here, as does the website that skinniezinho said as well, very good work :)
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #18
    No problem - glad you found it useful.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #19
    10.4.11, tried demeter and tenfourkit
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #20
    The plugin was pulled from a 10.5 machine - though I'm pretty sure it should be working fine on 10.4 too. Did you install it to the root Internet Plug-Ins folder in the one in your home directory? It's possible if you installed it in your home directory that it is conflicting with the one in root.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #21
    Same here.. sorta

    Yeah, tried out that same site also.. though it doesn't bring up a warning box saying that I need flash 11.5 in order to continue. The flash content simply won't open and play.. just sits there and the streaming circle just spins round and around.

    I am using Leopard WebKit - latest version.. Can some one recommend another browser so that I may view the flash content on that site?


     
  22. macrumors member

    cyberghoser1

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Hellas
    #22
    I tried it with Safari, no problem, works amazingly good.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #23
    Yeah, just tried it on my Quad.. No problems there.. The videos DO start up in High Definition 780/1080p, so it brings my PowerBook G4 1.67 DLSD to its knees and there is no lower setting(360p, 480p).


    QUOTE=cyberghoser1;16613653]I tried it with Safari, no problem, works amazingly good.[/QUOTE]
     

Share This Page