Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zerocustom1989

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 5, 2007
So im new to using instruments, but It seems to be doing a great job at telling me I have a ton of leaks in my main.m function while testing on a device.

How do I go about tracking these leaks down? I dont know know how to reasonably follow these stack traces. They all go into the foundation stuff.

Any advice? Here's a stack trace ex:

34 GPA start
33 GPA main /Users/johndavis/iPhone Apps/GPA/main.m:14
32 UIKit UIApplicationMain
31 UIKit -[UIApplication _run]
30 GraphicsServices GSEventRun
29 GraphicsServices GSEventRunModal
28 CoreFoundation CFRunLoopRunInMode
27 CoreFoundation CFRunLoopRunSpecific
26 CoreFoundation __CFRunLoopRun
25 CoreFoundation __CFRunLoopDoSources0
24 CoreFoundation __CFRUNLOOP_IS_CALLING_OUT_TO_A_SOURCE0_PERFORM_FUNCTION__
23 SystemConfiguration rlsPerform
22 AppSupport _ReachabilityCallback
21 AppSupport -[_ReachabilityRequest reachabilityChangedWithFlags:]
20 CoreFoundation CFDictionaryApplyFunction
19 CoreFoundation CFBasicHashApply
18 CoreFoundation __CFDictionaryApplyFunction_block_invoke_1
17 AppSupport _NotifyObserver
16 CoreFoundation -[NSObject(NSObject) performSelector:withObject:]
15 iAd -[ADManager _reachabilityChanged:]
14 CoreFoundation -[NSArray makeObjectsPerformSelector:]
13 CoreFoundation -[NSObject(NSObject) performSelector:]
12 iAd -[ADCache reachabilityChanged]
11 iAd -[ADCache _considerFetchingMore]
10 iAd -[ADCache _performFetch]
9 iAd -[ADManager propertiesRequest]
8 iAd -[ADManagerInternal mobileCountryCode]
7 CoreTelephony -[CTTelephonyNetworkInfo init]
6 CoreTelephony -[CTTelephonyNetworkInfo updateNetworkInfoAndShouldNotifyClient:]
5 Foundation -[NSCFString copyWithZone:]
4 CoreFoundation CFStringCreateCopy
3 CoreFoundation __CFStringCreateImmutableFunnel3
2 CoreFoundation _CFRuntimeCreateInstance
1 CoreFoundation CFAllocatorAllocate