Legal Advice

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by *Y*, Oct 14, 2006.

1. *Y* macrumors regular

Hey,

This is for all the lawyers out there. Say that I was stopped for tint. The limit in my state is 50%. My tint is visibly much darker. However the officer can not check it because he does not have the tool. Say he was still would write me a ticket. Would his "logical" reasoning count in court?:D

Thanks

2. KingYaba macrumors 68040

KingYaba

I am no lawyer

Hell no, make sure you fight it when you do get in court.

I have been pulled over recently and the cop said it looked like I was speeding. I asked - let me see the radar gun. I was on my merry way in twenty seconds.

Some cops just try to get away with writing tickets... they need the money.

3. *Y* thread starter macrumors regular

Are you sure?

Even if it is obvious that the tint is illegal?

4. KingYaba macrumors 68040

KingYaba

Well hey, you can be brought to court for obviously showing signs of being drunk. No need for a breathalyzer when you can't even stand strait :p

Well, when you do go in court, at least mention he didn't have any tool to measure the tint. Maybe you'll get lucky.

5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

The first thing you should do is strip off the tint on your front windows...it's stupid to do it in the first place. The rest of the drivers will thank you for being able to see them. And it removes their ability to go back and prove it.

You may get lucky, but if it was very obviously beyond the limit, they'll likely nail you anyway.

6. beatsme macrumors 65816

beatsme

I'm not a lawyer either, but I think if you're going to fight it you'd better be prepared to prove that you are in compliance with the law. The lawyers I have known say that, generally (whether it's fair or not), the police tend to get the benefit of the doubt.