lenght of apple tv renaming

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by TreRep, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    Venice, ITALY
    #1
    i have 3 apple tvs so i want to rename them to distinguish them....

    how many charachters can i use in the new name? i want the name to be completly visibile on iphones in portrait mode (and not the name incomplete with dots....)

    can someone try how many charachters con i use?

    thank you
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #2
    Why not try it and if you don't like the way it's displayed try another name? I haven't tried creating my own name for it (I only have one) so I don't know, can you only create your own name once and it's then locked from changing it?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    Venice, ITALY
  4. macrumors 6502a

    JohnLT13

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Boston (aka Red Sox Nation)
    #4
    I have 2 3rd Gen ATVs in my home. On my Mac it shows Apple TV (2) and Apple TV (3). anyone know how to change this as I can rename too living room and bed room?
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5

    Settings -> General
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    JohnLT13

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Boston (aka Red Sox Nation)
    #6
    Thanks, I have done that but it does not show changes on my mac.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #7
    Did you restart itunes? As long as I changed it on my AppleTV it shows up correctly in my iTunes. I have 4 differently named AppleTV's and two Airport Expresses that all have different names with no issues.
     

Share This Page