Leopard assist

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 127079, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #1
    Hi All,

    I was wondering if anyone has tried this program called Leopard assist (on a G4 733Mhz Quicksilver) http://leopardassist.sourceforge.net/ Basically it fools the leopard install disc and lets you install OSX Leopard onto a below spec mac. So I was would like to know if anyone has managed to get this work on the above system..

    thans :apple::):apple:
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #2
    did not work on my 800 mhz quicksilver.
    but might be due 10.5.2 retail dvd.
     
  3. Xapplimatic, Mar 13, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Xapplimatic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I had luck installing it on an 800 MHz iMac G4 and a 350 MHz PowerMac G4. Reinstalling it on the 800 MHz iMac G4 didn't work after the system was hosed by the combination of Safari 4 beta and GLIMS plug-in to unbootability. It's a hit-or-miss thing. The author isn't responsive it seems to requests for help with computers that it doesn't work on, so I would advise you to find the instructions online on how to copy and modify your own Leopard installer DVD to install on machines by changing the Mhz level it checks for to something below what you're at.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Why would you want to? Seriously.

    It's already bad enough on machines that actually meet the minimum spec, I can't fathom why a person would want to run it on something slower.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #6
    U can only use the new iPhone with leapord. Leapordassist did not work for me on my 777mhz g4 quicksilver so I am trying the instructions on the above link, it's currently installing, I will report back, thanks so much for this info, been trying for months to fugure out a way to do this, fingers crossed now
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #7
    Thanks for this info, it worked a treat n I can now use my I phone with iTunes! Btw, leopard assist would not work and the hack stated above would not work at first, I then formated my hard drive installing the original 10.1 disk, then upgraded to tiger, formatting again, then tried the firmware hack n installed leopard whilst disconnected to my modem, this worked, hope this is of help to anyone else trying.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    #8
    When i bought my mac, the iMac desktop normal (one before 2012 model) it came with leopard discs and I updated my friends powerpc G4 to tiger then when I tried to install leopard (using the discs that came with my mac), it didn't work, it said you cannot install this version of mac os x. So I searched it up and it said that there is a check for 867mhz+ or something like that so i checked my friends and its 937mhz or something around that so I installed the leopardassist anyway and it stlll didn't work, I tried in about 4 different ways. Any help? Do I need a pirated disc for it to work? Is there a version of leopard for the powerPC and a different one for the one before 2012 model?
     
  9. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    This is a 4-year old thread that was posted to the wrong forum. If you have G4 questions you'll get a lot more help in the right forum:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/forumdisplay.php?f=145
     
  10. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #10
    You need retail Leopard disk's which are seriously expensive..

    I done know if I'd even want to run Leopard on anything less than a 1Ghz, and 1GB of RAM..Tiger is awesome stay with it.
     

Share This Page