Leopard on a powermac g4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacHappytjg, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    So i got this computer or my uncle sent me money to buy this computer for my cousin and since i have it for a day or 2 im gunna update the os cause it currently has panther, and which is out of date its a powermac g4 quicksilver 733mhz 1.12gb ram, 160 + 80gb hd and wanted to know weather it would be best on tiger or leopard im considering leopard because... tiger is soon going to be unsupported and im mostlikly never gonna go near the computer again, and yes i know u need 867mhz or faster well i dont i can surpass the hardware imspection thing so yea, what would be best.
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    I have run Leopard on a single 867MHz G4 PowerMac and on a dual 1GHz G4 PowerMac and while it's not molasses in January, my old 2GHz Core Duo MacBook would handily smoke them both in loading the OS and in loading applications (FireFox, Office 2004/2008, Adobe CS2/CS3, iTunes, etc.).

    The 867MHz had 768MB of RAM and the dual-1GHz and MacBook each had 2GB. All had 5400RPM HDDs.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #3
    and that helped me how but w.e i put tiger on it and now having internet problems so im gunna make a new thread for internet issues
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #4
    Leopard will not run on your G4 because it does not meet the minimum CPU retirements.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #5
    trust me it would i can make leopard run on a g3...
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #6
    It won't run on a G3.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    #7
    I have a dual 1.42Ghz with 2GB Ram and tried both Tiger and Leopard. I ended up using Tiger because of difficulties scrolling in Leopard.

    Leopard does run fine on my 1.67Ghz Powerbook though.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #8
    u can still get it to run on low as a 400mhz g3 but it will be extremely slow
     

Share This Page