Leopard on Core Duo. Any issues?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cayley, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. cayley macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I will be getting a Macbook soon and wanted input on potential compatibility issues with Leopard. From what I understand, the Core Duo is 32 bit but Leopard will be a 64 bit OS.

    Is this any cause for concern? Or will there just be multiple versions of everything -- OS & Applications.

    thanks
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    Leopard will be 32/64bit hybrid

    and apple won't commit suicide, so u can be sure ur CD will run Leopard just as good, maybe even better in some area than 64bit.
     
  3. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #3
    Leopard should be able to run on a B&W G3 Powermac. A Macbook is going to be significantly faster than that.
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Leopard will be 64-bit capable, not 64-bit only. You have no cause for concern if that's what you're worried about.
     
  5. cayley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #5
    Wow, can't believe the response times here. :)

    Thanks all.
     
  6. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I think it requires a G4 actually.
     
  7. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #7
    thanks to our ~9000 active members, questions are usually answered pretty quick around these parts :cool:
     

Share This Page