Leopard on G4 Powerbooks...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by pvp803, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    do you think Leopard will run comfortably on a G4 1Ghz 1gb ram powerbook? i read somewhere Apple set the requirements at 1Ghz processor minimum. i'm concerned the new flashy desktop will slow down the entire powerbook and make the upgrade not worth it.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    Same Same

    Hey im running the same set up as you just with the 1.33ghz model. I suspect you should be okay with leopard considering the general architecture isn't that far from tiger which im assuming runs great as it does with me!

    The only time the old Powerbook is going to struggle is when 10.6 hits the shelves (if its still ticking over by then that is). Especially if it drops PPC support as some rumours are suggesting, although if 10.6 is to be the last version in the os X series i dont see why Apple would do this.

    Robxx
     
  3. macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    You'll be fine. The min Clock speed is 800mHz. But yes, it won't be as snappy as it could be. Max out the RAM to gain better performance.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #4
    I thought they raised the min clock speed to 867MHz?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #5
    according to another thread, apple did that.

    @pvp803
    i would wait till leopard is released a check the forums again.
    Eyecandy could be a problem (e.g. watereffect in dashboard)
    But perhaps Apple will turn off features like that in mac with low specs.
    just my 2 cents...
     
  6. macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    Is there actually a limit? I just made up a number that was well below the OP's computer so that he had peace of mind. :rolleyes:
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #7
    Tiger became sluggish on my Al 12" 867mhz as the updates mounted. I'm sure that Leopard will be usable on an older G4 but you'll likely see some sluggishness and lots of spinning rainbow wheels.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #8
    The first builds were capable of running on all G4's. One guy I talked to had it on his cube and said it was as quick as Tiger. I'd love to introduce my TiBook to Leopard.

    So, I've upped the processor in my Sawtooth from 500 MHz to a dual 1300. Does anyone know if I'm going to have a problem with the retail Leopard install on that system?
     

Share This Page