Leopard on my 733MHz Power Mac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by greedyhands, May 28, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    So I am sure many of you already know how to do this, or have done this, but I just wanted to share a success story. I'm in the process of upgrading a G4 tower, but wanted to use Leopard before I have the funds to buy a better processor. I found this excellent program that fakes out the install disc basically. Anyway, I was able to get 10.5.4 successfully loaded onto a 733MHz machine, and will post a screen shot as soon as I have it updated to 10.5.7

    I'm pretty glad this worked, as all my other systems are leopard and It seems I never noticed how much better leopard was till I had to use tiger again.
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    Here it is, the 10.5.7 update definitely took longer than I expected.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    cool. It's always nice to see how these machines still can be useful... I also installed Leopard on my Sawtooth G4 and everything works as it should, only a bit slow perhaps, but well-suited for web surfing.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    I thought 10.5 needed 1GB or more memory to install? :confused:
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    technically it requires an 867MHz processor and 512MB of RAM. This one will have 1.5GB soon enough, one $30 512MB card at a time :)
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    I still have 10.4 on my Power Mac. :) It runs better. I also have 1.5GB memory on that one too.

    But I'm looking forward to my new Mac Pro, probably ~2 months away now. :cool:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    I will soon find out how fast it runs. Hopefully I'll have enough money for the new processor quickly. I guess the main reason I put Leopard on there is that I couldn't stand not having such easy access to screen share. Sometimes I will be upstairs and want to monitor what is going on with my projects downstairs, or need to grab a file I don't have, or need to open up airfoil speakers. All this stuff is so much easier when I can click on the system on the left, and then click share screen.
     

Share This Page