Leopard Screen Sharing Screenshots

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    9to5mac details some screenshots from Apple's upcoming Screen Sharing feature in Leopard (Mac OS X 10.5).

    "Screen Sharing" offers some functionality that was previously reserved for Apple Remote Desktop by allowing you to remotely control other Macs from Leopard. Apple conveniently added client-side support to Mac OS X 10.4.10, allowing Leopard (10.5) users to control older Tiger (10.4.10) Mac OS X installations.

    The feature allows you to encrypt data across the connection and change the quality of the view. The feature was orignially described as a part of iChat when it was first introduced at the 2006 WWDC.

    Article Link
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #2
    This is great for when I need to help my sister out with something as she is in college and I am still at home in high school.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Corrosive vinyl

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #3
    if I read that right, maybe it will also be easier for migration assistant to do its job. getting out the firewire, switching to a different boot mode, etc. etc. hassle that is!
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    #4
    Awesome. I found myself really, really wanting this this past weekend while I sat on the couch with my work's MacBook Pro, manipulating files that were actually stored on my iMac in the basement.

    Yes, I know there are alternatives....but I seem to want/need this so infrequently that's its just not worth the hassle to setup. Having it built-in will be awfully nice.
     
  5. slu
    macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #5
    Awesome. VNC works fine on my home network, but over the internet it sucks and is really slow.

    This is one of the things I like about Windows better than on a Mac; Windows Remote Desktop is awesome. I use it all the time from Macs and PCs to control my work Windows PC and it could not be any better.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #6
    Will "Back to my Mac" from .Mac allow this to work with Macs that are behind routers?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #7
    I would have hoped they'd kept this feature in iChat as you wouldn't have to set up anything.

    For now, I'm using a service called logmein. You'll have to install an app on the mac you want to control, but the whole process is really seemless.

    www.logmein.com
     
  8. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #8
    some of the remote desktop's function? so whats the main difference between them?

    anyway, this is a good thing for apple, after all, windows XP has this for free for years.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #9
    Great. :rolleyes:

    This only makes it easier for friends + family to use me as their personal Tech Support. :cool:



    edit: #501 baby!
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    zombitronic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    #10
    But Windows Remote Desktop doesn't actually let you "remote control" another machine, at least not in a way that lets you physically take over the screen and let the user see what you're doing.

    This is great. I love ARD but the $300 price tag was never too enticing...although for as stable as it is compared to VNC, I suppose it's worth something. This is just another reason why I NEED Leopard NOW.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #11
    I belive so. That's one of the things I got really excited about during the keynote. I've always had to use Remote Desktop to admin my home computers while at school. The only problem with that is that I can only have the ports forwarded to one computer at a time. What would be really cool with "Back to my Mac" is if it worked as kind of a VPN so that I could access mulitple different computers behind a DHCP server.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #12
    Oh jeez! I didn't realize they released a Mac client finally.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #13
    ARD does way more than just screen sharing/VNC. It does package installation, logon/logoff/restart, system inventory, remote script execution and tons of other things applicable in a managed environment like a computer lab. Not necessary for the home folk, so this a great add to the base os.


    http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/
     
  14. macrumors 601

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #14
    I hope the other person doesn't have to know their IP address or anything. I think having it built-in with iChat made it easier. The people that I need to help are almost like babies. It needs to be super easy.
     
  15. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    lol, are you sure about this? why I heard the opposite?
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #16
    It's been around for a couple of months, I believe. It's a nice solution, but I haven't got around to using it a lot yet. I'm on a mission to install the client on all my Tiger-using friends, though.. :)

    true.. if they have to know the ip-adress, I'm sticking with logmein.com - but if it's in iChat that'll be killer! :)
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    zombitronic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    #17
    Just create another port for it in the Sharing prefs and add it to your router's port forwarding list. Then access it through "Yo.ur.I.P:newport#" (your real IP address and port number, of course.)

    I think that should work. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #18
    I believe so. And I also believe this might have been a reason for them to kill the feature in iChat - so they create a need for .mac and people believe it's worth the $99.. :)
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #19
    Does that mean that Macs with Leopard will be banned from any government machines? They do not allow anything, and recently even ordered everyone to disable iTunes sharing, so any possibility of "P2P remote controlling will be a major no-no.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #20
    I guess admins can turn that feature on or off.. :)
     
  21. macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #21
    I like the fact that this is arriving at last, but it won't change my use of ARD3 :rolleyes:


    That's completely and utterly incorrect. You get that control, and you have the sharing ability.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Wayfarer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #22
    Leopard keeps getting better and better. Tis good news. :)
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    DaBrain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    ERIE, PA
    #23
    Yes you can with the built in Remote Assistance.

    I have not used Remote desk top to share files etc..... BUT you can send a Remote ASSISTANCE Invitation to another person and YES they can take complete control of your PC. I have done it a ton of times with familly and friends while using Skype to give them help, lessons etc.... Remote Assistance claims to have a built in Audio feature but I have never been able to get it to work. Skype worked great with it.

    So you are correct that Remote Desktop can't share screen control but Remote Assistance can and it's been around for years! :)
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #24
    I wonder if this is actually behind the crap screen redraws that are happening with ARD since the 10.4.10 update.
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    zombitronic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    #25
    Positive. I've used RDC, ARD and VNC a lot. With Windows Remote Desktop Client, the screen you're controlling goes blank and you basically log in from the computer you're controlling from. You get their screen so it's not exactly sharing a "video" of the screen.

    With VNC and ARD you can lock out the screen if you want, otherwise, while you're controlling the other computer, their cursor moves right along with your moves. You can also share control, so the user that you're helping out can take over if they need to. This way, if you are indeed helping out another user, they can see what's going on.
     

Share This Page