Carrier Lets Confirm T-Mobile/AWS iPhone 5 (A1428) Incl Wind Mobile + Mobilicity + Videotron

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Satnam1989, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. Satnam1989, Apr 19, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2013

    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    Looking for the new AWS Compatible iPhone 5 for T-Mobile, Wind Mobile or Mobilicity and want to be 100% sure that you are getting the correct iPhone 5? Simply match one of the 6 Serial combinations below.

    Thanks to Prime85 and others input we are able to Identify the models based on Serial #'s:
    FH19 - Black 16GB
    FH1C - White 16GB
    FH1D - Black 32GB
    FH1F - White 32GB
    FH1G - Black 64GB
    FH1H - White 64GB

    So All of you Current A1428 model owners, get your iPhone replaced under apple care for any/all reasons...if you need T-Mobile AWS Support.

    Update 1: I recently came across a Friends new 64GB iPhone 5 White, Serial ends with FH1H but Model Number starts with MD! So now it has come down to, the only way to determine AWS compatibility is by looking at Serial # last 4 digits


    Need a Prepaid Plan for your Unlocked iPhone? Check out my other thread: (Click Here)

    Need to Unlock your AT&T iPhone, Samsung, HTC or any other AT&T Smartphone? Visit my site: (Click Here)
     
  2. macrumors regular

    secretanchitman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #2
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #3
    iPhone 5 service parts for T-Mobile are in the 661-7xxx range. What exactly, no clue.

    Whoever gets them swapped out, reply and list them out.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #4
    T-Mobile Tweaked iPhone 5 Owners (A1428) Please Share your Model Numbers

    If you want one then go to an applestore and use your applecare. They had no problem exchanging the iPhone.

    I had no issue at all exchanging mine and i didnt even have to lie.

    But to answer your question my serial is NE491LL/A = 64GB Unlocked with 1700 AWS
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5
    I've been having hardware issues with my unlocked iPhone 5 that I bought directly from Apple since the end of January and I've been thinking about going to an Apple store to have it replaced with the T-Mobile version (btw I have the applecare plan).

    It seems that you had a positive experience in exchanging your iPhone at an Apple Store and I'm hoping that others (including myself!) have similar experiences that they'll also share with the members here.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #6
    Goodluck! Please let me know how it goes.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #7
    So you got your unlocked AT&T iPhone 5 replaced with the T-Mobile version with no problems? Because one Genius gave me a conflicting story. Said it wasn't possible since they were different. :/
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #8
    They actually no longer have the old ones. So all the replacement unlocked phones will work with tmobile. Find a different genius that one seems to not know what he is talking about. Ask for a replacement unlocked version and check the serial on the box to see if it ends with one of these


    FH19
    FH1C
    FH1D
    FH1F
    FH1G
    FH1H
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    may I ask besides the Serial number (which has been giving false hope if you read my post and see my first model number as well as follow the link which shows a iPhone running Wind Mobile with exact same model number...difference is purchase time mine OCT 05/2012 and that person April 2013...) how are you actually confirming your iPhone supports AWS...now that all iPhone 5's show "4G" in 1700/2100 AWS and 1900MHz refarm coverage.

    ----------

    I will be getting my Two AT&T iPhones replaced (16GB) soon to double test/confirm, I'm hoping that my thread in the end will make it less confusing for everyone.

    ----------

    I think different meaning hes referring to the Apple Internal Item #....to us hardware wise they are all A1428...but to them they are 661-6847 or 661-6846 or 661-7xxx indeed different....

    ----------

    I wouldnt start the thread like a good portion of the members without doing my research...so far from screen shots available on Howard Forum and Macrumors I have seen anything but serial numbers ending in those 4 combos....
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #10
    My serial ends in FH1H and it is compatible with the t-mobile AWS network. So are you saying apple is lying on their own site?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #11
    Original post updated with crucial information regarding field test mode. Please check and reply
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #12


    I had an issue with my unlocked iPhone 5 that I bought in December. I dont have apple care. I had an issue with lock key. Wen I took to apple store m Wednesday, they were replacing with an iPhone 5 that doesnt end with the serial numbers mentioned above. I explained my concern but they were all BSing saying hat I would never get an iPhone 5 with tmo AWS bands for UMTS. I simply rejected the phone and told them that I will come my again next month. Hopefully, the old non tweaked iPhone will run out of stock and the only ones that are left with are probably tweaked ones. I am monitoring threads if anyone gets the newer one for replacement and then go to apple store for replacement.
     
  13. Satnam1989, Apr 20, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #13
    I know two people personally getting their AT&T models replaced at two different stores, the both apple stores turned out to be out of stock of White and Black AT&T iPhone 5's....I'm hoping this is a sign that the replacements will be the tmobile ones

    ----------

    I'm trying to prove a point that apples those few combos aren't enough as members with other combos such at DTTP DTTQ have been reported as working on AWS, trying to help people clear up doubts, confusions etc rather than just concentrating on what is just simply listed on their website. That's good you got that matching serial number but I have seen a good portion get entirely different combos....because we always can't go by the book as it has proven to cause a confusion....Also we already know those that get the matching serial numbers are already in the clear, I'm hoping to solve the mystery for the rest as a lot of people are getting their iPhones replaced with some reporting AWS success.

    Edit: I made a change to the first sentence of my OP, will only concentrate on owners with tmo iPhones who have anything but "FHxx" serial numbers
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #14
    When I went to the Apple store, they mentioned that they don't have the phone in stock. They said that they will call me when it comes. When they called me, they showed me a piece that just came with the phone and nothing else. I mean its not a new box but has just the phone. The serial number on this phone is none of the above that support Tmobile AWS on 3G+.

    Looks like they have separate shipments for new phones and separate for replacements. The new iPhone shipments may support both but my point is the shipments for replacement phones may not have Tmobile AWS on 3G+ (HSPA+).
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #15
    ya we can only cross our fingers sadly...but if people are getting "NE" as replacements we can have some what of a hope that it supports AWS...if its positive I will be getting my iPhone replaced for sure...as it will be worth getting a replacement that supports AWS...without forking out $200 that some people are just to get on T-Mobile...
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #16
    Just got two AT&T iPhones replaced and they both start with NE, I'm going to get them unlocked and report back after doing proper testing althought being in strong T-Mobile 1900MHz coverage area it's going to be difficult
     
  17. Prime85, Apr 20, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #17
    Lets Confirm T-Mobile iPhone 5 (A1428) Please Share your Model Numbers

    Mine is NE and it is on the AWS network. I am in Miami which is also a very strong refarmed are but i have not seen E since i got it exchanged. Mean network speed (speedtest) is 12mb/s. Also i now receive 4G in the center of my house which was always E before the exchange. My brothers phone was also replaced with an NE model and he now hows excellent 4G coverage inside his house where as before the exchange it always said no service.
     
  18. Satnam1989, Apr 20, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #18

    CONFIRMED NE486LL/A and NE487LL/A with serial numbers ending with FH1C both are T-Mobile compatible with AWS!

    MD638LL/A = 16GB AT&T Unlocked (Original) got replaced at Apple Store for NE486LL/A
    MD639LL/A = 16GB AT&T Unlocked (Original) got replaced at Apple Store for NE487LL/A

    Only thing sucked was they came with iOS 6.1.3 but now we have full T-Mobile AWS Compatibility...will be using one of these phones in Canada on Wind:)
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #19
    That is great news !!! I really want one so bad. For me, I got mine replaced 2 weeks ago due to the power/sleep button jamming up. I may come up with some BS excuse to get it replaced. It may be unethical, but they screwed me by not offering the software to take advantage of the hardware I already have. lol.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #20
    Go for it, I think apple knows what its doing in this sense...taking all old A1428's back and reconfiguring them since the new and old A1428 have no hardware/physical differences and I bet the baseband "hardwired" firmware is something apple is getting updated in the background before sending those units back out to be given to customers as "replacements"
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #21
    I didnt have to make up an excuse, I told them that i need to exchange my unlocked iphone 5 for a refurbished one because my iphone doesnt have access to T-Mobiles AWS network and the new ones do. His response was.... "OK"

    Got the "new" phone and i couldnt be happier.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #22
    how old was your phone? I don't want to use my applecare+ if i can get it that easily...
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #23
    November
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #24
    ok I'm going to try it...
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #25
    Wont hurt trying, i didnt have to use my applecare+. When i told him i had it his response was "that wont be necessary, i will run it through normal applecare"
     

Share This Page