Lid-closed MBP operation

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Sesshi, Jun 12, 2006.

  1. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #1
    Could anyone enlighten me as to how to get lid-closed operation to work reliably? I've got it to work a few times but not always. I find that when I'm working on the large monitor I hardly ever shift anything to the MBP screen as it's harder to see from the distance I have it to me, so I want it to work in closed lid mode.
     
  2. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Turn Macbook on, plug in the monitor and keyboard and mouse (can be wireless). Make sure the laptop is set to wake from keyboard, this is default. Plug in the power cable (you need the power cable attached or it won't work).

    Now close your MBP, let it go to sleep and then hit any key to wake it back up again and voila.
     
  3. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #3
    That's the problem. It wakes up, then goes back to sleep again until I lift up the lid.
     
  4. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  5. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    (surreptitiously reattaches yanked Magsafe)

    Er... um... Hey! What a surprise! It works now! Must have been a glitch or something...

    Thanks for the tip :D
     
  6. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Always glad to help. It's always the little things that catch us.
     
  7. slffl macrumors 65816

    slffl

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    It's not a glitch, lid closed mode only works while it's plugged in.
     
  8. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    I'd say he meant that it not being plugged in was the glitch. Some sort of archaic humour.

    :)
     
  9. altogether macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #9
    Now I understand my problems with getting this to work the other night. I've gotten my Macbook to work once with just the remote and no keyboard or mouse. I tried it again without it working, never realised the stuff about the power cord! thanks!
     
  10. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    It's not something you'd be thinking about. I went looking for ages and thankfully found an article on the apple website about it.

    Was actually using closed lid mode on my new macbook today. MMMM macbook. It whines though :p not as much as the MBP but there is some there. Listening to music now and don't notice it. Speakers no where near as good as the macbook pro's but no where near as bad as some people make them out to be. Very loud, if you can't hear these then you should get your hearing checked.
     

Share This Page