Lightroom RAW formats

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Drizzt, May 14, 2006.

  1. Drizzt macrumors member

    Drizzt

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #1
    This may be a dmb question, but what RAW formats are supported by Lightroom? Is it the same as Adobe's Camera RAW support list? What is Camera RAW anyway? Does it plug into Lightroom?
     
  2. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #2
    From what I can gather, the RAW support is tied in to the ACR from Adobe. It supports the LX-1 I have.

    Not sure on the nity grity of how it is done though.
     
  3. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #3
    I don't mean to be belittling, so don't be offended- But to apply the cliche saying...

    "If you don't know what it is, you don't need to worry about it".

    Camera RAW is the file created by your camera's sensor BEFORE being compressed to JPEG. These files are uncompressed (on most cameras), have no white balance applied to them, have more pixel depth, and allow much more headroom for post alteration. If you shoot in RAW, you can adjust almost any small to medium exposure issues you had, get a much broader range for white balance adjustment, and overall just have more legroom. However, as these are uncompressed, they tend to be quite large. A RAW file from a 12mpx Nikon D2X is 20mb.
     
  4. Drizzt thread starter macrumors member

    Drizzt

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #4
    So instead of releasing a new version of each of their applications every time they want to update RAW formats, they release one plug in that works with all their applications?

    That's what Apple should do with Aperture.:D
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    You're right and that's what Apple does. With Apple the raw conversion s done by a part of Mac OSX called "Core Image". All OSX applications share this. So when Apple updates Core Image iPhoto and preview get to use the new conversons and if you have Aperture it can use them too.
     
  6. gwangung macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #6
    Yeah, but that doesn't stop me with fiddlin' with it anyway...:D
     
  7. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    Seriously? A RAW file from the 16mpx Canon 1Ds II is less than 15mb.
     
  8. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #8
    Then Canon must use a little bit more compression than Nikon. I completely uncomression raw file would have 12 bits for every photo senitive site on the CCD. (I'd say per pixel, but raw files don't contain pixels.) Uncompressed at 12MP camera would have 18MB of data and 16MP camera would have 24MB or data. I think Nikon adds a JPG thumbnail to each raw file and some other data too. Canon must compress the data
     

Share This Page