limewire question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by onemacmini, Jan 9, 2006.

  1. onemacmini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #1
    hi there me and my uncle transfer files through this using our ip's . no we dont download illegal music it's just a easier way to share while he's in saudia arabia. but when we transferr our music the limewire connection fades in and out then goes to okbs per second. please help on resolving this. its not my internet its something to do with limewire. also i have limewirepro
     
  2. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Which ISP are you with? A number of UK ISPs are blocking, or slowing down, P2P apps, notably Plusnet and Pipex. That might be the cause.
     
  3. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #3
    Can they legally do that? I'd guess that would be very shaky ground and a dangerous precedent to make.

    I used Limewire and another couple of P2P apps via Pipex and haven't had any problems or slowdown recently.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    They can if you have a clause in your contract that you are not permitted to run a server from your broadband address... P2P programs are servers.
     
  5. aussie_geek macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #5
    Are you using the default ports? Some isp's block the common ones that are used with p2p programs.

    Try changing the port to something other than 6346. You can use port numbers between 1 and 65535. Make sure you don't use any common ports like msn / http / ichat etc. Maybe try something in the mid 50000's...

    After you do it make sure you and your uncle forward the port in your router and change the port in limewire.

    good luck!!

    aussie_geek
     
  6. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #6
    Why don't you just use FTP, it should be more reliable and faster? You can enable it on your machine and he can use a variety of programs to get/put files. You can even get files (servers mount read only) using Finder.
     
  7. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #7

    any help on how to do this ??
     
  8. MatthewCobb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    Port change in Limewire

    Limewire/Preferences/Advanced/Firewallconfig

    Type in the port number here, and again in your router software.

    BTW, I've had no problems of this kind, but have not been using it in same way :) - FTP (w/Fetch or similar) sounds a better bet, to be honest, for your needs.
     
  9. jocool5 macrumors member

    jocool5

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    First: Limewire has caused more Premissions errors that i can shake a stick at. I work at a campus Helpdesk and limewire seems to be the end of many a macintosh computers.
    second FTP. you can set up a username and PW and it is just as good as the limewire program. You go to sys pref. -> sharing -> and you will see al the sharing types and there should be a way to limit the folder to R-only and there is even a way to give others permission.
     
  10. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #10
    any help with limeiwire please im still experincing my problem??
     

Share This Page