Linksys Wireless Keeps Turning Off

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by The_Man, Nov 26, 2005.

  1. The_Man macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    I recently bought a linksys WRT54G wireless router and its been pretty good so far. I set it up at home and it had good range with my iBook and it was perfect. Then It travelled with me up to school (in suitcase on plane) where I did not have the oppurtunity to set it up. I brought it back home (about a 1:30/2 hour flight) and continued to set it up again at home. I plugged it in and did everything the same yet it could not connect to the internet. It would broadcast a signal but could not connect to the internet. Finally, after resetting routers and things like that, I got it working. Then, like two hours later, It just randomly shut off (eliminating both wireless and wired internet). I got it working again in like 15 minutes then 4 hours later it shutt off again on its own. I have the linksys hooked up to pc running windows xp, which is normally getting its internet via a comcast modem. If anyone has any suggestions, please I am desperate for help.
     
  2. Megatron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #2
    Can you be more specific - what exactly did you do to get it working? Did you have to change any settings or literally all you did was just unplug the router and then power it back up?
     
  3. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    Go to 192.168.1.1 and log into your router, on the top right, is the firmware version... Tell us what firmware version you have.
     
  4. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Try a reset first:
    1. Hold in the Reset button for 30 seconds.
    2. Unplug the power cord and wait for 1 minute.
    3. Plug the power cord back in.
    4. This will restore the default settings and a default password of admin.
    Some folks might recommend a firmware upgrade, but it shouldn't be necessary unless you've reason to believe the existing firmware is corrupted. If you decide to do a firmware upgrade, read the faq's on the Linksys site, and make sure you do it over ethernet, not wireless, otherwise you'll lunch it!
    When you're setting it up, again, it's best to use the xp box and the ethernet, rather than your wireless-equipped iBook, as it eliminates the possibilty of wireless signal variations and interference.
    Finally, are you sure it's not a flakey isp?
     
  5. The_Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #5
    Thanks Guys for you responses.
    I am running Firmware version 1.00.0.
    What I did to get it working again is normally just unplug it and start from scratch. I put in the installation disc and worked from there. Recently, I have just been uplugging everything and shutting down the computer then plugging in my modem waiting, the plugging in the router, then turning on my pc. That seems to be pretty effective. I stopped using the first method because It didnt work after about 2 or 3 times.
    Also, How do I check if I have a flakey ISP?

    Edit: I have tried a reset before and it has not helped.
     
  6. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Try http://www.adslguide.org.uk/tools/speedtest.asp to see what speed you're getting.
    Your isp may also have a 'service status' page on its site.
    I think there are also apps that can test your connection, trace the route your packets are taking etc, but I don't know anything about them really. I've used a couple of pc apps some time ago but there all a bit beyond me.
    If you have a neighbour who uses the same isp maybe? Unlikely I guess.
    One other thought - have you set the router to keep the connection alive?
     
  7. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    Firmware 1.0?! :eek:


    I'm at v4.something... Google... upgrade...
     
  8. The_Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #8
    I ran the speed test and got...

    Downstream - 767 Kbps (95.9 KB/sec)
    True Speed (down) - 828 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream - 313 Kbps (39.1 KB/sec)
    True Speed (up) - 338 Kbps (inc. overheads)

    This is what I got from my iBook. I do not know which processes are running on my PC which is sharing the connecion currently. What should I do now?
    I will try upgrading the Firmware and see what happens.

    Thanks
     
  9. The_Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #9
    I tried to upgrade the firmware and downloaded the file from alphalink_linksys_wrt54g_current_release.bin

    I then went and typed my IP into the adress bar and clicked adminstration<Firmware. Then I hit browse, then I found the file I downloaded, hit upgrade and it said "Upgrade are Failed". Yes it used incorrect grammar.
    What Do I Do? Can anyone give me a different link to the firmware I can download. That would be really helpful. Thanks
     
  10. jbt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #10
    linksys unit are notorious for shutting of the wireless for no reason, i wouldn't buy another unit from them. there's lot of little things you can do which will keep them stable for a while but they seem to become immune to these quick fixes
     
  11. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    I use DHCP with manual addresses with my wireless connection. When I switch to automatic, I can access the router but can't access my internet.

    Updating to the latest firmware is important. Try unplugging the router for 30 seconds when it fails, that should reset it.


    Here's to the Crazy Ones [​IMG]
     
  12. The_Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #12
    Can anyone give me a link to a firmware update for the WRT54G?

    If Linksys are bad, what is another good brand?
     
  13. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #13
    Linksys aren't all bad. You also hear very good things about them. I have a WRT54G that has probably been on for ~ 300 days straight without missing a beat once.
     
  14. The_Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #14
    So do you think its my connection or the unit itself?


    (Also, I'm still looking for a place to update the firmware, I checked linksys.com and there were a bunch of different options and I didn't know what to do. Help?)
     
  15. superted666 Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #15
    Same problem

    I have the same problem same router!

    I have the uk version so firmware is slightly different but its up to date as from last week or so.

    The unit disconnects maybe twice a day, stops responding to both wired and wireless clients so reset it and its fine for a while!

    ANy ideas?
     
  16. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #16
    I have the same router and can not get it to work at all!
    It's most annoying, it has the latest firmware but it just will not connect to anything, wireless or via the ethernet!
     
  17. superted666 Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #17
    got it!

    Found this on another website - Mines working so far only time will tell.

    "For people that get frequent diconnects in Windows XP when connecting to a WT54G or WRT54GS, there is a possible solution. Try setting the "Beacon Interval:" to 50. This setting can be found in the 'Wireless >> Advanced Wireless Settings" tab in the Router Web Admin Page"

    Seems to of fixed mine for now :D
     
  18. superted666 Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #18
    anyone had any probs since changing the value?
     

Share This Page