Linksys Wireless USB Adapter & iMac G3

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by maxrobertson, Aug 11, 2006.

  1. maxrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #1
    I just got internet at my house (Not even kidding :eek: ) and I don't want to use my dad's PC, so I bought this Linksys Wireless-G USB Adapter, but I can't get it to work. Does anyone have any experience with this type of thing? I'd really appreciate any help, otherwise I'm just going to have to return it, which would suck.
     
  2. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #2
    Hi. About 7 months ago I was in the same situtation as you. iMac G3.. wanted to get a USB Adapter. The Authorized Apple guy at CompUSA told me I had to upgrade to Tiger before I could even use them.. (Had Jaguar) I then decided to get an ethernet game adapter instead, they work like an ethernet bridge and are much faster. I would exchange your USB adapter for one. (especially on USB 1.0) It is obviously meant for game consoles, but if it is set on "Infrastructure" you can use it as an adapter for the computer. It comes with and ethernet cable that goes into the adapter.
     
  3. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #3
    SOME Linksys USB adapters work with third-party driver software. But not all Linksyses. (Hrm, my Google-fu is failing me, I can't find the software right now. I'll take a look on my iMac G3, which has the software, and let you know tomorrow.)
     
  4. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #4
    You would be best off just avoiding USB adapters alltogether. They rely on drivers which usually don't exist for OSX, or are just very, very horrible. As mentioned before, look for an Ethernet based wireless adapter (sometimes called wireless bridge, game adapter). Either that, or an original Airport card which will always work great.
     
  5. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #5
    It depends on which iMac G3 he has. The first four revisions (tray-load,) have no AirPort slot. And even if he has a slot-load model, he needs both the horrendously expensive AirPort card, and the also hard-to-find adapter. (I lucked out that my slot-load iMac came with the adapter, even though it didn't have the AirPort card itself.)
     

Share This Page