LINUX Console Login Abilities?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DaBuzz, Jun 23, 2004.

  1. DaBuzz macrumors member

    DaBuzz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    Does Terminal have the ability to login to a Linux box? I need to keep track of our Linux-based sendmail servers, and I wanted to know if I could do it via Terminal, or is there 3rd party software I need.
     
  2. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #2
    Absolutely!
    Are you logging in with ssh? If so, just do this:

    # ssh -l username host.com


    Lee Tom
     
  3. DaBuzz thread starter macrumors member

    DaBuzz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    I'm a UNIX/Linux newbie (total newbie), so sorry for this dumb question...

    What is ssh? And how do I know if I am loggin in with it? Is that the Mac OS shell?

    I am on OS X 10.3.4.
     
  4. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #4
    ssh is like telnet, but secure. They are command-line programs. Once you log in, you're typing commands on your linux box. You know that you're on the linux box, because the prompt will change (depending on how it's set up) to something like:

    [user@host.net directory]#
     
  5. DaBuzz thread starter macrumors member

    DaBuzz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    Ok, I tried it, but the default user name it seems to be using is my Mac OS shortname@hostname (e..g., jdoe@smtp1.xyz.org), and that is the password it is prompting me for.

    The syntax I used to login was ssh <<hostname>>.

    Thanks for the answers...my Linux admin is on vacation, so I've had to assume these responsibilities! LOL
     
  6. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #6
    Take a look at my first post, the syntax for logging in with a different username is in it.

    Lee Tom
     
  7. DaBuzz thread starter macrumors member

    DaBuzz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Ah, ok. Thanks!
     
  8. DaBuzz thread starter macrumors member

    DaBuzz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Hmm.

    When I login like this
    ssh -1 root hostname, I get
    ssh: root: No address associated with nodename

    When I try like this
    ssh 1 root hostname
    I get the same error.

    I have the root password...am I doing something incorrect in my syntax?
     
  9. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #9
    That's a lowercase "L", not a 1 (one).

    Also, by the looks of things, you're pretty new to this.. so be REAL careful logging in as root. it's easy to royally mess things up!!!

    Lee Tom
     
  10. csubear macrumors 6502a

    csubear

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #10
    well since your new to unix, you best command to learn is man. Like if you want to know all the arguments to ssh type man ssh
     
  11. PrometheusG5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA

Share This Page