Linux

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by dualburn001, Jun 6, 2002.

1. dualburn001 macrumors regular

I'm thinking of installing Linux on my g4 iMac, just to experiment w/ it. Since I am a Linux newb i need help. I need a couple of things:
    1) Suggestions on what Linux OS to use.
    2)Where to find the OS
    3) How to install the OS
    Thans, im sure one of you can help me out!

2. Choppaface macrumors 65816

3. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

sparkleytone

if you are a linux newb get a PPC distro of mandrake. it will be the easiest for you to use, and will take you as far as you want to go.

4. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

mmmdreg

People I have spoken to say Mandrake and RedHat are for Newbies...one guy even said (ho uses Slackware) that its for people who don't want to know what the real linux is like!..but yeah...go mandrake for a beginner...

5. Beej macrumors 68020

Beej

Mandrake *shudder*

Had to reinstall my whole system after attempting that. Ugly. Never again. I can do everything Linuxy I ever want to do in OS X.

6. awulf macrumors 6502

I use Yellow Dog Linux. You can download the latest version from thier website: www.yellowdoglinux.com. This Linux is the Red Hat version for mac. YDL 2.1 is a bit buggy but I just downloaded YDL 2.2 and am installing it now. This distribution comes with Mac On Linux (like most) so you can run Mac OS 7.5-10.1 or another linux and this distribution also comes with Kio-mac which allows you to access your HFS+ partition.

Other options are: Mandrake, SuSE, LinuxPPC and tons more.

Yellow Dog also have allot of support on their web site plus if you buy the Official Package you will recieve free technical support.

7. amnesiac1984 macrumors 6502a