Lion and Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator CS5

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by aleni, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. aleni
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #1
    anybody with lion and CS5, is it compatible? any bug or incompatibility issue?
     
  2. celticpride678
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    There are a few bugs but for the most part, it works.
     
  3. Michaelgtrusa
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
  4. aleni
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #4
    thanks for the quick reply. anyway, with the dev release, can u update your snow leopard to lion to make it a primary OS, does it interfere with your itunes library and have to make your iDevices restored as new?
     
  5. PurrBall
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  6. aleni
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #6
    but do u need to restore the iPhone as new? or the library is still intact?
     
  7. dieselpower44
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #7
    How did you install it? Adobe's custom installer for Master Collection CS5 does NOT work under Lion.
     
  8. aleni
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #8
    i installed lion over my SL so i don't have to reinstall CS5. it works!
     
  9. feare
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #9
    I used migration assistant to bring CS5 over and it worked fine.
     
  10. 87racer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    87racer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    I did a fresh install of Lion on a separate partition and used the cs5 master collection installer to install illustrator photoshop and premiere pro and it worked perfectly with no issues and i have seen no issues using photoshop at all.
     
  11. PurrBall
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    Nope, didn't need to do anything. Works as if nothing happened.
     
  12. amersceo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #12
    Adobe CS5.5 Does NOT work with new Apple Lion OS

    I have Adobe CS5.5 Master Suite and I just loaded Lion and Adobe CS5 No longer works can anyone tell me how to resolve this issue. I uninstalled it and re installed it yet I am receiving the same error message. When I go to run any of the applications in the suite it says that "Java must be installed in order for the application to open. and since I am not connected to the internet it cannot run". but the problem is I am connected to the internet. It is driving me crazy. does anyone know of any fixes for this issue?
     
  13. 87racer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    87racer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    The can't suite applications require java. You could try running software update and installing the latest java. If it doesn't show in software update try going to a website that uses java and it will prompt you to install it.
     
  14. WiLLGT09
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #14
    Hmm, I just installed the trial of CS5.5 Production Premium (though I have yet to open any of the main apps) and it installed just find on Lion GM...without having Java installed.

    I'm assuming that either 5.5 doesn't require Java or that I will be asked to install Java upon running a main app like Photoshop for the first time.
     
  15. basher
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #15
    There was a post about this a week or so ago. I think the resolution was to make sure you have Internet hooked to the Mac via a wired connection. I think those that were connecting via WiFi were having the issue you describe. Not being able to download and install Java.

    Hope this helps ya!
     
  16. cudo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Location:
    w bloku
    #16
    cs5 12.04

    CS5 12.04 works lovely with lion so far...im just wondering if there is going to be fullscreen and resume update.
     
  17. djsound
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #17
    I attached an image can anyone tell me if my computer will run Lion? thanks....

    If will have an option to install over SL without losing everything? I dont want a clean install
     

    Attached Files:

  18. davedude
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #18
    CS5.5 Master Collection installed great for me in Lion.

    Mind you, I only use DW, PS, ID and IL.
     
  19. cosmiccircle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #19
    I upgraded to Lion yesterday, couldn't wait!

    I got home from work today, went to crank up InDesign, and NOTHING HAPPENED. NONE of my Adobe CS5 programs start except Bridge and Acrobat!

    I tried running updates and I am up to date on everything. Desperately seeking assistance as to a fix for this.

    As far as running Java, I am getting no message whatsoever. I wish it would tell me something, but that is interesting, I will try hard wiring for the time being.
     
  20. cosmiccircle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #20
    This solved it. Crazy!!!!

    I didn't even get a message when I tried to launch Java Preferences in Utilities folder.

    You have to go to Apple and download it.

    Fixed the problem immediately.

    LINK HERE
     
  21. andyffer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #21
    my computer has been very laggy and whatnot but WOW, Photoshop worked great. I just had to do the Java download.

    It is CS5 too, not 5.1 or 5.5
     
  22. techweenie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Location:
    West LA
    #22
    Thank you! Great tip.
     
  23. SOLLERBOY
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester,UK
    #23
    Photoshop has a memory leak and is unusable on my iMac.
     
  24. baryon
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #24
    The 64-bit version of Photoshop CS5 indeed has a huge leak. Switch it to 32-bit mode by right clicking Photoshop.app and in Get Info, choosing "Run in 32-bit mode". And voila! Photoshop is almost as fast as CS3 used to be.
     
  25. kerke
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #25
    photoshop serials

    I had managed to install and deactivate the serials of Photoshop CS 5 on Snow Leopard through the "Console". However, when I upgraded to Lion, I lost the crack I made, since the commands I had don't work anymore. Can anyone tell me how I can make it again? Thanks!
     

Share This Page