Lion as Virtual Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by MyRumors, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    anyone know if its possible to set up Lion as a virtural machine ?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Dranix

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Gelnhausen, Germany
    #2
    Its impossible with the current AppStoreInstaller - If that changes in the final is unclear.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    I tried using the Lion disk image for a 10.6 64bit VM in VM Ware Fusion, but it didn't boot. My MBP wouldn't boot a disc with the DMG burned to it either, so I guess it just isn't bootable, although other people seem to say otherwise.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    DoFoT9 is installing it as we speak. You need VMWare with Snow Leopard VM in order to do that it seems. I'll link this thread to him and ask him to keep you guys updated.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    thanks for linking me hell..

    my first attempt did not work, it rebooted and everything - but went straight back to 10.6 OS.

    i am now trying a few other things and will report back any success/failures.
     

Share This Page