Lion DP4 and iWork Save-on-Quit Issue

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by ooninay, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    I've noticed since installing Lion DP4 that none of my iWork programs prompt me any more when quitting to ask if I want to save changes I've made to a document. The program (Pages and Numbers) just quits without saving. Has anyone else noticed this? I haven't tried Keynote yet to see if it does the same thing because I seldom use it. Word and other applications continue to prompt me to save first.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    It's a feature. It automatically saves.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    I read about that new feature, but I don't see any evidence of it. When I re-open the document my changes aren't there. Does it have to be specially activated?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #4
    Mine dose the same thing. Its a bug. We have to wait for iWork to get updated in order for auto-save to work in those apps.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Ah, okay. As long as it's not just me. Thanks!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    I'm happy to report that this issue has been resolved with the Lion GM released to developers yesterday.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #7
    In which way? Does it ask to save, or does the OS successfully save on quit?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #8
    Is there a way to avoid "Save on Quit" nightmare?

    Maybe Snow Leopard did this, but I never noticed it. Mountain Lion definitely does: Quitting automatically saves. I see this referred to in the thread as a "feature." :mad: I know Mac lovers love their mac's, but when I deleted a large amount of text unintentionally and then quit, I was astounded to find it gone forever. Is there any way to disable this so-called feature? Save means save; quit means quit. Whatever geniuses decided to change quit to mean save in a document or spreadsheet (yes, I know, it's standard in such things as calendars, notes, and contacts) without prompting is putting orthodoxy above functionality. Help!
     

Share This Page