Lion: Enabling TRIM on MBA?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by netdog, May 18, 2011.

  1. macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Is there anything one needs to do to enable TRIM on a current generation 13.3" MBA?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #2
    Why do you think you need to do this? (hint: no one has shown that it shows any benefit on drives with Apple's firmware on them)
     
  3. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #3
    All Apple SSDs have TRIM enabled in Lion, IIRC. It is enabled for my 11” MBA.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    #4
    So far, Lion doesn't seem to have a plethora of "must have" features.

    So if TRIM isn't really needed, then maybe I shouldn't bother upgrading to Lion when it comes out? Things are working fine now, why rock the boat?
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    Planet Earth, Old World
    #5
    My understanding (which might be wrong, of course) is that TRIM is no longer really necessary with modern SSD drives. They use something called Garbage Collection instead, and that's automatic. No OS support needed.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #6
    Using the TRIM command is more efficient than garbage collection.
     

Share This Page