Lion has out of the box video encoding

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by scmaster53, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    North Adams, MA
    #1
    Last night I used this feature to compress and encode a screen recording I did. I didn't realize that it was new to Lion until I went back over to my Snow Leopard partition and attempted to do the same thing for another screen recording. You can do this by right clicking on a video file and choosing "encode selected video files" from the list. You can encode up to 1080p .m4v/AAC. Image attached for proof.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #2
    Could you post a screen shot of the settings?

    Thanks.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #3
    It seems like QuickTime in Lion is finally getting to be what QT7 Pro was. What is the version number now?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    North Adams, MA
    #5
    Sure thing

    I gotcha covered too. See images below.

    EDIT: I missed that 1080p encodes into H.264. Awesome. And it's decently fast. I'm on a Macbook Pro 15inch Core i7 and it moves right along.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #6
    Thank you! It's definitely not as full featured as Quicktime 7 Pro is, but maybe by release it will be.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    North Adams, MA
    #7
    I just want to clarify that the option to encode is found in Finder when right clicking a mov file. The option is not found in Quicktime. I am unsure as to whether this is something new for OS X, or if it's just OS X using Finder to call to Quicktime to do the encoding.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #8
    If you've used Handbrake before, can you offer a comparison?

    Using QT to re-encode is slow as hell in SL.
     
  9. scmaster53, Feb 26, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2011

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    North Adams, MA
    #9
    No I have never used Handbrake, nor Final Cut, nor any major video editing application on any platform. I'm a coder/gamer haha. What I will do for you is take a 3 minute screen recording at 1920 x 1080 and compress it into 1080p H.264 and time it for you. If that helps at all.


    EDIT: I think this feature is still a bit buggy. I told it to encode and a .m4v file showed up for a bit (said it was zero KB in size and would not open) and then a bit later promptly vanished. Also when encoding there is a total lack of progress bar or any pop up window at all. A new file just appears next to the source file and when it finishes you can open the compressed/encoded file. Hope that gets changed by the time Lion RTMs
     

Share This Page