LION on MBP 13" - Volume greyed out.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by RWil85, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #1
    I installed Lion on my 13" MBP yesterday - all seems to have gone well..

    except for the fact that, upon a reset or shutdown/startup, the volume hardware buttons will not work..they will flash the command on the screen, but will not truly function..also, the volume icon in the top bar is greyed out.

    i saw a workaround in another thread - plugging in headphones and pulling them out - that actually worked; however, i do not want to have to do that every time.

    has anyone else come across this/found a fix?

    thanks for the help!
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #2
    I've got the same problem and currently using the headphone in - out as a fix. Mine was a fresh install, not an upgrade. I doubt we're alone.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #3
    Go into disk utility, verify disk permissions then repair disk permissions. It fixed my problem.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Mexico
    #4
    well, you aren't actually alone. I got the same problem. I'll try the headphones trick, and repair permissions as well.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #5
    this did not work on my MBP..

    thanks for the suggestion, though.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #6
    I have the same problem. Updated from snow leopard to lion two days ago. Fixing the permissions didn't help me.

    Once I booted into the safe mode and restarted my computer. It fixed the problem for a while. I booted into the safe mode once again and the issue came back when I restarted my MBP. Now the safe mode trick doesn't help anymore.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Mexico
    #7
    using an external headphone made the trick for me.
    Quite annoying, though. Anyway, let's patiently wait for the first update, 10.7.1...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #8
    Seemingly, it must be a bug if users who have installed using different methods are experiencing the same problem..hopefully, it'll be fixed in a future build.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    innominato5090

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    #10
    Fix

    There is a wee latch at the back of the port that flips it from analogue to digital. If you look in and see red it is stuck on digital. Ramming a mini jack or mini tos-link in and out usually frees it.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #11
    A mod should sticky this thread, as this bug gets posted here frequently

    Attached is the best workaround I've found (kudos to whoever posted it before, sorry I don't remember who you are). It's an Applescript that will restart CoreAudio. Just install it in Login Items.

    Anyone with 10.7.2 installed know if Apple fixed it yet?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #12
    I have downgraded back to SL because of this problem.....the headphone trick does work but it is annoying that you have to do it everytime after restart.....
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    #13
    Check my sig for the workaround to this problem.
     

Share This Page