Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

McShrek

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 28, 2011
I have Lion Server running as a web, mail and other apps. Everything works fine, yet I do not have a static IP nor does my wonderful provider allow for that service (Time Warner). So I use DYNdns to maintain a fake static ip.

The Lion Server is also my Firewall, all incoming requests forward directly to the Server (active DMZ Zone).

Anyway, after setting everything up, which was a bit of a miracle since I have no such experience, Mail works fine with the exception of the bounce backs from mail providers like gMail that verify the IPs and if the domain ip is different than then sending ip, the mail server will not accept the mail.

I am sure many are aware of the issue, so I will not spend much time explaining. So I signed up for the STMP routing with DYNdns, thus requiring the outbound relay to be set within the Lion Server Mail Setup. As outlined in their support page: https://www.dyndns.com/support/send-email.html

Long story short, if I use the relay option as specified by DYNdns:
Relay to ISP = Checked
Server Name: outbound.mailhop.org
Login/password as provided by DYNdns
Auth type: login/password
Verify in the firewall that the smtp ports are open

The deal is, that I can receive yet mail will not send, actually it sends but is not delivered and I get no error or returned mail. I have contacted DYNdns support, who were much less than helpful, yet they did look at the logs and showed that the emails went to the mail hop, the user name was correct, but password failed. After checking things out the best I could, I am leaning towards the fact that Lion Mail Sever is encrypting the password when it sends the mail to the mail hop. DYNdns believed the same.

So does anyone know how to ensure that the password is sent correctly on lion server, when using the stmp relay to ISP configuration.