LionDiskmaker won't create 10.9 USB

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by mmomega, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. mmomega
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #1
    Has anyone else tried making a USB 10.9 Install drive yet?

    LionDiskmaker would not work.

    Will try TargetDiskMode to get it on my MBA soon.
     
  2. john7jr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    #2
    My normal Disk Utility method didn't produce a bootable USB volume either. Still trying things.
     
  3. UmbraDiaboli
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #3
    Same here. It seems Apple tweaked it so it can't be made.
     
  4. john7jr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    #4
    Well, the dmg just doesn't contain a bootable system anymore. I'm sure there's a way around it.
     
  5. UmbraDiaboli
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #5
    Maybe Apple will include it in a future update? For now I'm installing 10.9 over ML.
     
  6. Dalton63841
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #6
    If you look inside the LionDiskMaker package you will notice it is built around a fairly simple, albeit long, applescript. Looking through the script you can see it was made specific to 10.7 and 10.8. It doesn't do a simple check for a minimum version. It makes sure it is a specific version. Because of that, it will not work without an update.
     
  7. portishead
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    los angeles
    #7
    Same problem here. Burning a DVD didn't work either. I'm just going to install over ML until I can figure it out.

    I hope Apple doesn't lock us out from doing clean installs.
     
  8. MichaelDT
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #8
    There is a hidden file in installESD called Basesystem.dmg this is the boot image but not the install files, still trying to work out how they link together. But you can boot off of that image just not install.
     
  9. Dalton63841, Jun 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013

    Dalton63841
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #9
    Just like Mountain Lion, there is an alias for the Packages folder inside BastSystem.dmg. I think it is at /System/Library/Packages. You need to delete that alias and copy the Packages folder in InstallESD.dmg into its place.

    EDIT: The alias is at /System/Installation/
     
  10. Failurbydesign
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
  11. MichaelDT
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #11
    For me it wouldn't install over ML. I had to format and do a clean install, possibly because of my DIY fusion drive. But no problems, I always back up :D.
     
  12. Failurbydesign
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Failurbydesign

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #12
    During the attempt, did it inform you of the issue or did you loose data?
     
  13. portishead
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    los angeles
    #13
    How did you do this?
     
  14. Ritte
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #14
    Can I just restore the InstallESD.dmg on a USB or should I restore BaseSystem.dmg
     
  15. Bear
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #15
    Actual information on how to do this is in How to build a bootable USB Installer.
     
  16. MichaelDT
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #16
    No it simply said that it could not install on the partition, so I knew something was wrong. I then did a time machine back up and erased the drive restored and then updated, I do not know what the issue was.
     

Share This Page