List games that work on your MacBook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by mykoljay, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #1
    Please list games that you've sucessfully run on your MBA.

    Don't forget to note whether it required Bootcamp (Windows) or the Superdrive.

    And please do not make this a discussion of how the Air is not a gaming machine...we know that.

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors regular

    dahcheet

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #2
    I installed WoW by downloading the files from their site and installing. I haven't actually gotten around to playing it. I logged in and was in a small town (Grom'Gor or something in SV) and it looked great. Fan starting going full blast though. I might try and log in this weekend and see how the game actually plays. We shall see.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    Marina del Rey, CA
    #3
    Civilization IV (native Mac) runs but the disk must be in the superdrive :(

    Also crashes if I turn the grid lines on.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    Sins Of A Solar Empire, Call of Duty 4 (Hopefully, gonna try it later today)
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #5
    When the mac mini first came out folks stated that certain games were not ideal to play on it (e.g. WoW). They mentioned the frame rates were slow. Being that the MBA is a much more advanced machine than the first gen mac mini, I would think that it would have no issue playing most games. Unless games have advanced that much more in the last few years....
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #6
    HA! Good luck with that... integrated graphics don't really run modern games folks. Even the processor in the MBA is too weak for these games. Have fun trying though... :D

    'Course it largely depends on how you define "runs well". I'm more of a hard core gamer, so my standards are a bit high.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    Regardless, unless I've tried it, I'm not going to make assumptions of how it'll run. 30+ fps is good enough in most conditions. Surprising, most games I've played ran pretty well on a GMA950 card.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #8
    Did you try cod4 yet? lol
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #9
    Starcraft + brood war with blizzard no cd update run great.
     
  10. macrumors member

    ThinkGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jakrta, Java, Indonesia
    #10
    Will Sims 2 run well on it. Coz I really want to play Spore on it when it comes out (and Will Wright said Spore'll take less resources than the Sims 2). Obviously you'll need a SuperDrive to play The Sims 2 or Spore, but will the performance be slower via a USB SuperDrive? Thanks.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #11
    I don't think it will run because of no graphic card on it.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #12
    Has anyone tried Age of Empires III? The box claims it will run on the Intel integrated graphics chipset...
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #13
    OS X Native:

    Warcraft 3/TFT
    Diablo 2/LoD
    HOMM V

    Bootcamp (XP SP2):

    Sins of a Solar Empire
    Space Rangers 2
    Hellgate London
     
  14. macrumors member

    ThinkGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jakrta, Java, Indonesia
    #14
    Can't the integrated graphic chip (the GMA X3100) run Sims. I am aware the MacBook uses that. Can the MacBook run Sims 2. If it can, then maybe the Air can. Is t possible for anyone to test that out.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #15
    Please Keep Posting

    I am looking for recommendations on games that work on Macbook Air. Key criteria are 1) able to run on the Intel integrated graphics chip and 2) don't need the DVD to play after the install.

    Ages of Empire III seems to fit this bill based on the written specs. Can anyone confirm? Any other suggestions?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas
    #16
    It runs fine on my 1.6GHz HDD Air.


     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #17
    All I have to say is that some of you all have some pretty low standards when it comes to determining whether a game runs or not.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    ctt1wbw

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Seaford VA
    #18
    I'm in to the hardcore games like you can find at www.glennsgames.com.

    I also like klondike forever, SolitaireXL, and Rockgarden. Nothing but hardcore shoot'em ups for me! :D
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    luffytubby

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #19
    Is there any more information about how WC3 and WoW runs on a MBA...?
     
  20. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #20
    W3 runs fine on both OSX and Boot Camp
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    luffytubby

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #21
    Ok. What about Guild Wars? Maple Story Gunz? Quake 3? Anyone know how these games run?


    I heard someone say that the X3100 is worse than the intel 900! Can that be right? Aint x3100 the succesor to 900? is it a driver issue?
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #22
    Hi to all,

    I'm really interested knowing if BF2, NBA Live 07/08 or Collin Mac Rallye (Dirt? Nah...) run (well) on MBA. If anyone can help here I would really apreciate it.

    Thanks.

    Cheers.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #23
    Return to dark castle runs, but works MUCH better if you turn off the 30fps option in options-->game.
     
  24. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #24
    No, maybe, Yes (rally 2005 runs well), Dirt, no.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #25
    ive installed the sims2 on my 1.8ghz macbook air and it runs... but it is pretty horrible. i wouldnt consider it to be playable cept maybe the tutorials.

    ive got all graphics to the lowest settings but everything feels like its in super lag mode.
     

Share This Page