Living with an iMac G5 as a challenge...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Nameci, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. Nameci, Apr 9, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012

    Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #1
    Life with my PowerMac dual core is kinda boring, I need a challenge.

    My PowerMac G5 is my primary desktop which is at this age of "i" core processors is outdated and many would say vintage. It has still a good life left on it.

    But for the sake of a challenge for myself I will try to live my day to day activities with just an iMac G5 1.8GHz as my primary desktop. I will find out if I can live with it.

    Shutdown on the PowerMac...
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Farewell dear Nameci! Send a log of your travels through the land of the iMac G5.
     
  3. Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #3
    Good luck! Although it's basically like setting sail on the Titanic...
     
  4. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    Yes I guess, from powerful to underpowered. I will see how long will it last until I decide to get back on the G5 dual core.
     
  5. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Good luck. I know I couldn't do it. I couldn't even use a dual G5 as my primary machine. Hats off to those that do though. Interesting to see how things last before you go back to your powermac.
     
  6. ThunderSnake macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #6
    I hereby set the over/under bet at 72 hours. I'll take the under bet. :)
     
  7. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #7
    First two hours, and still doing great. Safari a bit slow, but still useable on my standard. Audio processor on the PowerMac is much better than the iMac.

    So far so good.
     
  8. yanksrock100 macrumors 6502a

    yanksrock100

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
  9. Imixmuan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    #9
    This is

    ...Inspiring! You should keep a log, and write an article for lowendmac.com, which has kinda gone on a PowerPC bashing editorial bent of late. I understand some people need the power of a core i5, but most of us don't.
     
  10. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #10
    Light web browsing, music on itunes, itune movies and ripped dvd's all played very well, email, word processing, Light photoshop and illustrator use. Nothing I can ask more from it.

    Here she is...

    [​IMG]
     
  11. tayloralmond macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #11
    I should try to do this with my iMac G3 or (for an even greater challenge) I could use my iBook G3 Clamshell. :)
     
  12. Ariii macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #12
    It works pretty well, as long as you stay away from YouTube. And Flash! I think YouTube is one of the main reasons people have to replace their computers so much.

    I Just tried it a month ago-- actually, I think my computer must be possessed or something because it can boot Linux easily and do the latest versions of a lot of applications without lagging. It was really choppy, but I could stream YouTube videos too, with 192 MB RAM.

    Or you could try running it from the command line for a week. :)
     
  13. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #13
    That.

    I have mactubes to view youtube videos if i want to. I don't think I need flash in my life. I don't watch porn. :D

    I want to be productive and with the uses I intended for it, the iMac is more than enough.
     
  14. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #14
    what spec is that 1.8ghz Imac G5? solid machine... I had a 1.7ghz Imac G5 that i only sold about 3 months ago. With tiger on it it was plenty quick, it had 1 gb of ram in it and did pretty much everything that ws thrown at it.

    (I wasnt using it, but it was my wifes mums daily driver :)

    what spec is yours Namci?

    and how you going so far with it?
     
  15. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #15
    1.8 GHz
    2 GB DDR RAM
    250 GB HDD
    Apple Bluetooth
    Apple Airport Extreme
    nVidia FX 5200 64MB (weak video, but supports CI)
    Wireless k/b from my powermac
    Magic mouse from my powermac
    M-Audio AV40
    Buffalo 1TB Combo interface
    On-board Ethernet (100Mbps - sucks) :D

    The only thing I miss with my powermac dual core is the speed... so far I have no problems having it as my daily driver. I don't need a 512MB QFX 4500 to view emails, am I right?

    It is tempting to put a 120GB Intel 320 in, or maybe a 1TB WD Caviar black? Whadaya thinks?
     
  16. tayloralmond macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #16
    If you've got the money to spend, I'd say the Intel 320 would be pretty sweet. You should post before/after GeekBench scores!
     
  17. Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #17
    They'd both be awesome! The Black drives are lightning fast & I highly recommend them. I've never really been an SSD person myself (I suppose I prefer capacity over speed) but wouldn't 120gb be a bit tight unless you've got a couple of externals hooked up as well?
     
  18. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #18
    I agree. But I have a 1TB Buffalo Drive Station attached to it already for all my data. A 1TB WD black caviar SATA II would be cheaper than the SSD.
     
  19. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #19
    not sure if 120GB is tight.. i use a 60gb ssd boot drive on my MP. works great, i have my home directory/apps folder on a WB black and the systems just flies.

    id say 120gb would hoot on a G5. that said, i am sure that G5 bus wouldent be able to saturate that SSD anyhows. :)

    120 gigs is massive for me, both my Macbook and Macbook pro have drives that are 120gb and thats plenty of space for me. :) depends on your usage i guess and if you have NAT storage or not.
     
  20. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #20
    A 120GB SSD is more than enough for a daily driver assortment of emails, web browsing, casual light PS and AI work. All my data are on external and backed up all the time. It is a practise I have learnt over the years. Never trust the internals to do the job of storing sensitive and valuable data.
     
  21. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #21
    I'd put the SSD in there it should be interesting.
     
  22. Nameci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #22
    Is there somebody here that have tried it? On a SATA I the Intel 320 is enough, I have it in my macbook and it was a huge improvement over the 5400rpm drive that came with it.
     
  23. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #23
    I have/had a SATA 3 on my G5..
     
  24. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #24
    No G5 has SATA II with the built in SATA ports. The only way to get it is with an expansion card in the PowerMac G5.
     
  25. zoomy942 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #25
    My wife has a imac G5 2ghz like that one she uses as her teacher machine at her preschool. Still trucks along great.

    Bravo!
     

Share This Page