Load DOS on Virtual PC

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by KD7IWP, Jun 1, 2004.

  1. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #1
    I have DOS 6.22 that I want to load on VPC and I don't know how. I told VPC to mount my disk, which has been hard to do since I have no floppy drive, but I made a disk image. When I start up the VPC it tells me there is no OS installed. So how do I get it to recognize the disk? Additions can't be installed because it is set up for dos, so I can't copy and paste the image. Any ideas? Thank you.

    ~Babbitt
    Powerbook 15" 5400rpm, Superdrive, 128meg video
     
  2. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #2
    mount the floppy image, and then shut down the PC. then reboot, and it should do what its supposed to do.

    but before that, how did you copy the files to the disk image? did you mount the floppy disk and drag/drop or did you actually make an image from the floppy or something?
     
  3. KD7IWP thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #3
    I used a PC to create a disk image and then copied that to the Powerbook. Then I mounted that to the PC using the little floppy disk icon at the bottom. I tried turning it off and back on, but to no avail... hmm. Thanks.
     
  4. KD7IWP thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #4
    Still not working

    Well, VPC still does not bootup from the dos disk. I don't know what to try. I have the disk mounted on the Mac harddrive and I told VPC to capture the floppy, and it did, but when I turn on the PC, it says no OS is installed. I'm using a DOS 6.22 disk image. Any ideas anyone?
     
  5. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Is your VPC set to boot from an image? You can turn that on/off.
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Is the disk image of the floppy a bootable image?
     

Share This Page