Loaded XP on my 24" iMAC - Easy

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Xirtic88, Dec 13, 2006.

1. Xirtic88 macrumors newbie

I bought this iMac last week. My first ever MAC purchase as I am a Windows Administrator. Ugggggg. I love this MAC.
    Anyways, I had to slip stream SP2 into my XP image but the directions I found in a post from this forum made it very simple. Running boot camp was very easy. I printed the PDF instructions that came with boot camp and followed it precisely. Less than an hour later I was playing Oblivion on high graphics. The graphics are amazing in that game. Even the outside areas were smooth and very detailed.

Thanks to SiliconAddict for supplying a great post and this link from the Slip Streaming thread:
    http://www.helpwithwindows.com/Windo...p2-bootcd.html

2. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

Yeah just finished setting up XP on my Mac as well. Was pretty surprised how quick it was (except for the fact that I put a SP1 XP disk in by mistake at first and got myself into a bit of a problem with that).

Still waiting to see what the graphics are like though :).

3. Nym macrumors 6502a

Nym

whoa, I also have a 24" iMac and I know the feeling! it's great to dual boot :D

Congratulations for making the switch, I hope you're enjoying that big white beast :p

Anyway, just a premonition, any minute now someone is gonna post in this thread saying that you mispelled Mac.
    It's typed Mac (short for Macintosh) not MAC (because its not an acronym or whatever) :) just wanted to let you know that it will probably happen :D eheheh, congrats again!

4. 4JNA macrumors 68000

4JNA

anybody else find these two statements together to be strange? :confused:

congrats on that new, fast, beautiful machine!

5. Xirtic88 thread starter macrumors newbie