Loading 5 CDs onto a DVD...possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Over Achiever, Dec 12, 2002.

  1. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #1
    The reason why I'm asking is that I'm curious on whether I can load multiple CDs from games onto one DVD, and that whenever the game usually requests to "Insert CD 2" or something, that it will recognize that it's already inserted...

    In other words, I want to avoid disk changing by burning a DVD.

    Possible?

    (I'm bringing this up because of the Myst games...:D)
     
  2. Bradcoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Northeast U.S.
    #2
    this is how

    This is how to do it (never done it myself though). Make an image of each cd on your hard drive. Use toast to burn each image as a separate track on a dvd. that should be it. once the dvd is done, it should appear as 5 different cd's on the computer. i believe it mounts each track as a data cd.
     
  3. Over Achiever thread starter macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #3
    If that is how you do it...

    YOU DA MAN!!!:D THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

    That seems too easy :)
     
  4. Over Achiever thread starter macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #4
    Ok, before I get too excited...

    Can anyone else confirm that it is possible to burn multiple CDs onto DVDs just by making them separate track?

    Imagine the possibilities... :)
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    I have no idea if it will work, but I will be very interested to know if it does. So please, whoever does try it make sure to let us know if it works. :)
     
  6. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #6
    if it doesn't, just burn the image files onto the DVD and mount them as needed off the DVD. so you could also make images of all your software, put them on the DVD, and then when you get a new computer, you won't have to bust out a CD binder or whanot (you could even try a DVD-RAM so you can add new software easily as you get more)... (though I dunno exactly how legal this is...but it's no big deal if you're the only one using the software at any given time)

    you're right this is a cool idea :D
     
  7. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #7
    only problem i see with mounting the images is that some games/software might require seeing their specfic cd in the drive....

    so if you're just mounting images off the dvd, it might not work.

    but for most stuff, it would. games seem to be the main ones that want a hard copy in there.
     

Share This Page