Loading classic on an OS X machine

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gyroslice, Jul 20, 2005.

  1. gyroslice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    #1
    can I load os 9 onto a system currently running OS X without erasing the HD?
     
  2. deryk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Denver
    #2
    Yes. Classic should be on one of your system disks that came with your mac. Just place it in your CD drive and follow the installation instructions.
     
  3. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    Assuming it's a Mac that can boot OS 9, just install OS 9 as you would normally (don't do an erase and install though), and it will install alongside OS X. You'll then be able to boot OS 9, and also Classic mode in OS X will be enabled (assuming it's 9.2). I did this with my Power Mac G4, and it worked fine.
     
  4. deryk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Denver
    #4
    All computers running any version of Mac OSX can install OS 9; but not all can boot into OS 9.
     
  5. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #5
    No....depends when it was made

    I tried to install OS 9 (off OS 9 Install disc) on a mirrored G4/DP 867 at work and got a message that you can't install on this computer. Only way to put OS 9 on was through OS X install disk. I think after the mirrored units were introduced Apple disabled installing OS 9 from OS 9 disk. IMO Apple should of let us install it and be able to boot into OS 9 on any machine including the latest because there is still a large number of OS 9 users out in the REAL world that depend on OS 9 for their incomes. Besides, with G5 speeds now approaching 3GHz it would be interesting to operate an OS 9 machine at those CPU speeds.
     
  6. deryk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Denver
    #6
    You are right, you cannot install OS 9 from an OS 9 system disk, but you are able to still load it from an OS X disk. So, I still stand by my statement that any modern mac can have OS 9, but not every modern mac can boot into 9.
     
  7. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #7

    that could have been because of the CD you were trying to install it from....that's a pretty common message that results from several different situations....examples; when you try to use an install disk that predates the manufacture of the machine, also there are install disks that were shipped that only install on a specific range of hardware

    anyway, the specs listed at lowendmac.com seem to indicate that the G4/DP 867 should be able to boot on 9.2 so you might want to check into it further
     
  8. ldenman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #8
    why would someone want to boot up 9.0?
    excuse my ignorance, i have never used 9.0, thats why i'm wondering.
     
  9. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #9
    Some software was never updated to use Carbon, so running it under Classic or "real" 9 is the only way to use it. Some old hardware isn't supported under X either.
     
  10. ldenman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005

Share This Page