Locked out of Administrator's Account by Parental Controls

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by openoceans, Oct 16, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #1
    I have a 2010 Macbook Pro. I recently upgraded to Mountain Lion. The problem occured when I tried to turn on Parental Controls for a User Account on my computer. Somehow, accidently, I put the lock on my Administrator's Account and now it says it is Managed. When I tried to turn off Parental Controls it asked me for my Administrator's name and password. I've never before been asked to input my admin name, it is usually already in the line above the box for my password. When I entered what I thought was my administrator's name and password, it says one or both are wrong. I have a login password on my computer and that works fine and I thought this password was the same. I can't access any web secure sites and need to turn off the parental controls. Unfortunately, I've scratched the orignal startup disk so can't use that but I did try reinstalling Mountain Lion from the Mac store - with the same result - access denied to turn off parental controls. I can't access anything on my computer that might require an administrator's name and password. Now what??
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
    this may work: hold down option while booting, go into recovery mode, change password.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #3
    Re: Locked Out!

    Thank you. I will try it shortly and then repost to let you know if it works. I'm deserate at this point, so I'll cross my fingers that it does!

    Cheers!
     
  4. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    Ask your mum to unlock it and promise to not visit anymore porn sites :p , or do a clean reinstall
     
  5. openoceans, Oct 17, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2012

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #5
    Not Appreciated

    I am the mom and yours should have taught you some manners. I'm here for help. If you're a professional who can offer real advice - do so. If not, post your assumptions where they're appreciated.

    ----------


    Holding down the Option key when rebooting didn't work. Thanks for the attempt.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #6
    I assume you don't have an image copy of the boot disk? If you do, accept the possible loss of some work and clone the copy back to boot. If not, another good reason to start doing image copies after you have this all straightened out.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #7
    There is no need to lose any data. It's possible to do a clean install and not lose anything.

    ----------

    Look for your lost sense of humour and don't take yourself do seriously. That is my helpful life advice.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #8
    Image boot disk

    Sorry, I don't know what an image boot disk is? I have two start up disks and the first one was scratched and looks pretty useless. Still looking for help on this one. I can't access internet banking which is the main reason I need in here.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #9
    Since you're running Mountain Lion you can do a clean install directly using the built in recovery features without the original start up disks. When you reinstalled directly from the App Store, all it does is restore the operating system files and does not reset any settings or preferences that you've set.

    Do a backup using an external drive and time machine or manually copy all of the documents and stuff that is important
    Restart and hold alt (or it may be opt on your keyboard)
    Choose Recovery 10-8
    Click on Disk Utility and then select your start up partition.
    Erase it
    Quit disk utility but stay in the recovery
    Click on Reinstall OS X



    If you have an iPad, then this is explained in more detail in my free book - link in signature. Without understanding more on exactly how you've done this, it's difficult to trouble shoot the problem. Hence why I am suggesting a clean re-install.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #10
    Reinstall from Apple Store

    I've re-installed Mountain Lion directly from the AppStore and the install was successful - but the result was the same. I did that twice last week.
     
  11. theSeb, Oct 18, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012

    macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #11
    When you reinstall directly from the App Store it does not erase any settings as I've mentioned. You need to do a clean install by following the instructions above
     
  12. openoceans, Oct 18, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #12
    Re: Reinstall Mountain Lion

    Okay, sorry misread that post. So, it looks as though I have no choice but to erase everything and start again. I was hoping to avoid that. I have a a few cloud accounts - will I lose the data stored there if I erase my harddrive? Thanks for the help.

    ----------

    I'm trying to understand what you've read and I've read it a few times now, so it's a bit clearer. What you're saying is that I can reinstall Mountain Lion directly from my own computer without going to the AppStore. And, I don't have to lose any of my data but, just in case, I should do a backup? Is this correct?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #13


    I'm trying to understand what you've read and I've read it a few times now, so it's a bit clearer. What you're saying is that I can reinstall Mountain Lion directly from my own computer without going to the AppStore. And, I don't have to lose any of my data but, just in case, I should do a backup? Is this correct?
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #14
    I thought booting off an install DVD allows you to change the password. Is this no longer the case?
     
  15. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #15
    This seems doubtful. There should at least have been a warning that the admin account was locking itself and that this was bad idea. I don't have a Mountain Lion instance handy but all previous version of the system preferences console for 'Parental Controls' it won't even list accounts in the Administrator class. That a sure fire way of not getting into this situation. Apple's account management tools in system preferences are designed not to get into this situation.

    The only way this happened is a two step process where the account is first removed from admin class ( and again there is a likely at least a warning message if removing *all* accounts from the admin group. ) and then locked up with parental controls from another admin account. Doing both and there now being no admin accounts .... is possible with a rather baroque NIS/OpenDirectory set up, but highly unlikely for a causal MBP where have to go to the Internet for help. Anyone who had set up a context where can only remote authenticate to login and admin would still be able to undo that.


    If you have removed your account from being in the Administrator's group then you are not an administrator anymore. On the odd chance that you're deeply confused about your situation ....

    Open Finder.
    Go to the hard disk name you have named for your computer in "Devices". Go to the 'Users' folder. Find your 'short' account name.
    Put that name along with your password. If you are still an admin that will work.

    If you are not an admin anymore then no. If there are no admin accounts on your MBP anymore then you are screwed.
     
  16. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    You can’t use parental controls to manage an administrator. If your user account is Managed, it was not an Administrator account.
     
  17. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #17
    That's why this "story" comes with the caveat that somehow the DVD got scratched and can't boot.

    I suspect that once the real admin finds out the password is reset that the 'backdoor' being sought here would be exposed.

    It is doubtful this is about parental controls and more so about someone looking for a way to backdoor escalate their account into the admin group.

    for Lion and Mountain Lion there more a recovery partition rather than a DVD.
     
  18. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #18
    It's all terminal now but can be done in recovery partition. Also remembered an option key that opens up a menu item but not sure what OS. They keep changing little unnecessary things.
     
  19. slughead, Oct 19, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012

    macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #19
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #20
    Please, I know you're really trying to help, but don't make this into some kind of mini-tale: there's no 'story.' I'm forty years old with two boys. I own a macbook air and a pro. I turned on Parental Control on the Macbook Air because my kids were visiting Youtube too often on account of Minecraft. I attempted to do the same with my Pro and it looked like that's what I'd done until it showed my Admin account as managed. When I tried to turn off the Controls, it asked for Admin name and password. Nothing to hide here boys, sorry. And, I admit, I may very well be confused over this situation, but I'm trying to explain exactly what's happening and I need advice on how to get the controls off.

    ----------

    Oh, and the the original startup disk 1 got scratched because I tried to reinstall it on the macbook air, but the insert part is damaged (mentioned I had two boys?) and my son told me it has been damaged for awhile, so just use a chopstick to get the disk out!? - I now know why it's damaged.) I tried to force the disk in and that's that. Please don't make this out to be more than it really, is: A lady who accidentally got locked out of her admin account and now needs help.

    ----------

    As was mentioned above, reinstalling doesn't change my system preferences, so it was suggested I do a clean reinstall...which seems my only option at this point.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
  22. macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #22
    You can change administrator password through the install process I think though.
     
  23. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #23
    The part that makes it tough to believe is that it is hard for an admin to inflicted this diminished capacities on itself. Independently the scratched DVD is believable. If a kid was creating a context to solicit help bypassing parental controls it would go very much like this one.


    One case that I didn't consider was that one of your kids' account is now the administrator. It is still the case that the admin locked you out. It is only that you don't know who the admin in.

    Go to Applications > Utilities and open Terminal application.

    At the prompt type:

    ls -l /Users/

    Should get something like

    drwx .......... Shared
    drwx .......... username1
    drwx ........... username2

    where Username are the names of the accounts on the machine. "Shared" isn't an account. For each of those names type

    groups username1

    where 'username1' is the user names. That will spit out a list of groups. If see something like 'admin' or 'lp_admin' then that account is an administrator account.

    If there are no accounts that are a member of admin then that whole instance is screwed. Create a Lion / Mountain Lion / etc installer USB Flash drive with your other Mac and wipe this one out. Or create a rescue USB Flash drive and restore from a previous back-up (if have something like Time Machine snapshots from before this instanced was train wrecked. )

    If one of your boys has an admin account then have him login and then take the computer away.

    Turn off parental controls on your account ( Sys Prefs > Parental controls )

    Turn your account back to an admin account. ( Sys Prefs > Accounts )

    logout. Login to your account.

    Turn off admin privileges for boys accounts
    Turn on parental controls on those standard accounts.



    Two other measures to consider.

    1. Create an account just to be the administrator. Make that account have admin privs and re-downgrade your current account to just a standard user.

    For day-to-day usage you would just have a normal account. So if you get up and walk away for a couple of hours or accidently let the boys use the account it isn't an admin account.

    There is an addition burden that need to login to the admin account from time to time to run "Software update" and get new/updated applications.


    2. If your boys escalated their accounts to admin status without your knowledge then probably should consider the following

    http://www.opendns.com/home-solutions/parental-controls/

    Basically you can set your home router and personal computers so that they use this DNS server service. There is a free and "for pay" parental control settings. iPod Touches, hand held games , game box, etc. all get onto the internet these days. This approach blocks all the devices using the service .

    You can also cut off proxy sites if that is an issue.
     
  24. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #24
    This is the result..

    Lorena-Whelans-MacBook-Pro:~ lorenawhelan$ Is -I/Users/
    -bash: Is: command not found
    Lorena-Whelans-MacBook-Pro:~ lorenawhelan$ Is -I /Users/
    -bash: Is: command not found
    Lorena-Whelans-MacBook-Pro:~ lorenawhelan$
     
  25. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #25
    Fixed the Problem!!

    Thank you all for your help...it was actually fun - including the intrigue. I'm grateful you're all here to help us newbies and computer illiterate folk.

    Solution:
    I simply logged out of the account I was in (which has always been my Admin Acct.) and logged into the Test Acct (which had somehow become the Admin Acct.). From there, I simply switched off PC for all the Users and I was back to normal. It was thanks to all of your posts that I read and reread - especially the one about not being able to apply PC to an Admin Acct, etc. It made me go back and have a good look at everything.

    :)
     

Share This Page