Locking down the internet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by poppe, Dec 6, 2006.

1. poppe macrumors 68020

poppe

Hello everyone,

I'm a student and me and my friend are sharing the internet. He and I split the bill the problem is is that he is on 24/7 stream videos off of myspace. Is there a way that I can bottleneck his usage of internet? I have a draft N d-Link wireless router. I know it seems mean but I am not being able to stream anything once and awhile. Even my internet getting to macrumors is slow... What is you advice? Or should I just kick him to the curb and tell him to pay for his own seperate line/service?

2. angelneo macrumors 68000

I think the best way is to talk to him, even if you managed to get that set up (possible complicated steps ahead), how is he going to react if he found out you bottle-necked his bandwidth? If he still need to do all those streaming, I think both of you would be able to come up with something.

3. poppe thread starter macrumors 68020

poppe

No because he has that pompous attitude of where he pretends to be all friendly and nice and makes you feel like an ******* for asking of him to not be like this. It's hard to explain how he is... But it's not worth it... I'm tired of having to be his mother... He doesn't even take the toilet rolls (once used) out of the bathroom. 4 brown toilet rolls just sitting in the bathroom because you have to tell him to do something before he will. Oh I also can't talk with him to not be selfish because he has the flew... though it doesn't change the way he is (sit's in bed around 20 hours a day unless he has class then he is in bed for only 19)... (sorry its my rant)...

I dont want to limit him to 1 mb/s or what ever... It's just that I got the 8mb/s version because I thought that would be sufficient... However I keep ending up with the short end of the download speed...

4. Analog Kid macrumors 68040

Analog Kid