logic board upgrade for sawtooth g4?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by brendu, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    so i have a powermac g4 sawtooth that ive done a number of upgrades to, but im wondering... is there a new(er) logic board that will fit into the powermac and possibly be intel compatible?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    There was never an Intel Mac in that sort of case. So no.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    i know that, im just curious, would it be possible to fit a modern motherboard into that case? basically turning it into a hackintosh?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Not without a lot of work. I'm pretty sure it's been done but those cases (and the Apple logic boards) are not ATX standard so it's not like the screw holes/apertures for ports etc line up.

    Edit to add: for example
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    yeah thats what i was wondering... thanks
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    The machine is probably done. Any way you look it it, buying a PC or a real Intel Mac is going to be cheaper.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    yeah your right about that.. really there is no point to it, im not going to, i was more or less just curious
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #8
    i have 2 sawtooth g4 mac cases but they were actually when i looked up there specs the next version of the power mac which if i rember was quicksilver in the blue cases which are sawtooth

    both of mine are the 4 slot pci models
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Mac_G4
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    You can do it but it's a lot of work. If it's a hobby type thing, I say go for it.

    You'll need to pick up a new power supply as well, though, as even if you get a 20-pin ATX mobo, the wire configuration is different (I modded an ATX to work with a sawtooth, not a big deal but involved killing a line and splicing another).

    Post pics if you decide to go through with it!
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #10
    Have a fried with an upgraded 500ghz Powermac G4 to Sonnet 1.8ghz G4 and upgraded video card.

    He's very happy.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    yeah ive upgraded the processor to a sonnet 1.0ghz and a nicer graphics card... the dual core 1.8 is so damn expensive it makes no sense to buy it at all IMO...
     

Share This Page