Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cmccarten

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 29, 2006
I'm new to the Logic express interface (and hoping this is my final transition between programs - Adobe Audition, Acid, Sonar, Garageband - too much! The learning curve is getting to be impossible!).
The program recognizes my audio interface, and I have no problem recording or hearing playback of recorded tracks. The way that Logic deals with MIDI, on the other hand, is totally beyond me.
When I play my keyboard, Logic indicates that there is input, but I cannot hear the input. Similarly (and to some extent, I assume these two issues are probably be connected), I have no idea how to access the settings for software instruments. How can I choose a different instrument than the preloaded one of the track? How can I modify the instrument? How can I add effects?
On the normal audio tracks, the I/O box and effects boxes are all present on the strip on the left side: but on the MIDI tracks, all that it offers is (I assume, because I can't hear what changing these parameters does) three wheels of reverb, chorus, and some sort of modulation. I similarly have no control over the I/O stuff.

I know that is a lot of questions, but hopefully there is a simple answer to my question!

Thanks.

scottlinux

macrumors 6502a
Sep 21, 2005
I'd suggest getting the Martin Sitter Logic book. Or read the intro pages of the manual (all in pdf form under the help menu in Logic). To show how to basically load a software instrument into a track.

Midi from your keyboard is just a triggering system that sends data to trigger events. So there is no audio being sent from your keyboard across the midi connection.

I'd suggest first to open Logic (default layout is okay for now) and click on a software instrument track (blue icon, says Inst 1).