Logic Platnium 6 shipping

Discussion in 'New Mac Application Announcements' started by medea, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68030

    medea

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Location:
    Madison, Wi
    #1
    http://www.emagic.de/products/ls/platinum/index.php?lang=EN
    Emagic has announced that it is now shipping Logic Platinum 6, the latest version of the company's professional audio production software. "Exactly four weeks after first being presented at NAMM in Los Angeles, delivery of Logic Platinum 6 to international distributors and specialist suppliers commenced today. The first update kits will be in store within the week."
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Neeto, lol.

    Time to ditch SX? Hm.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #3
    is this a competitor of pro tools?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Um.. yeah?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #5
    um thanks dud.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    no problem :)

    seriously, logic is used in major studios, sometimes even with digi hardware.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #7
    thanks, i suppose i should pick up a music
    magazine and check out the software packages.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    #8
    Still waiting for digital performer.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    #9
    "Still waiting for digital performer."

    Me too, but with waveform editing in the arrange
    window (the only thing that was missing in logic)
    Logic 6 is pretty much "the killer app".
    Hopefully dp4 will be out soon and stable. If not
    motu will turn into a hardware only company.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    cr2sh

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    downtown
    #10
    Platinum? How about Silver or Gold?! Something that doesn't cost $600! Come on... :mad:
    <edit>
    My mistake! 5 is available.. I was unaware... (calls MusiciansFriend)
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #11
    Logic 6 may only be available in Platinum, initially, however, I remind everyone that PT 6 is not shipping in low-end versions with it's initial release.

    As for finding info in magazines, I recommend an well written article reviewing Logic 6 in either Electronic Musician or EQ (I don't recall which). The article was in the latest issue.

    Emagic/Logic fans may have noticed that Emagic has redesigned their web site. It's a cleaner approach, though not as easy to navigate, IMO.

    Hooray for Logic 6!

    Dan
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    #12
    .
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #13
    Um...not really.
    daniel
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #14
    My friend is buying Logic 6 for $650. I believe he is getting it from Guitar Center, and they are matching a price he found online.

    Dan
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #15
    Digidesign's Pro Tools LE/24 Mix/HD or whatever version you are looking at, and Emagic's Logic Audio are NOT direct competitors.

    Pro Tools focuses on Audio recording&editing
    Logic Audio focuses on MIDI

    Pro Tools is widely recognized (although some hate to admit it) as the most powerful audio recording/editing and general sonic manipulation software package on market. Up until like, a year ago, Pro Tools didn't even posess MIDI capability. It has just recently been added, and it really blows (imho).

    Logic Audio is arguably the most powerful MIDI sequencing software on the market. The name "Logic AUDIO" is quite deceptive because, by nature, the application handles no audio data at all -it has always posessed audio capabilities, although *realatively* basic compared to pro tools (the audio in Logic Audio is fine for simple audio RECORDING (not multitrack)). Logic Audio's audio HANDLING is great. Its audio editing works if that is all you have, but personally I prefer dedicated apps like Spark.

    Most electronic music producers & MIDI users get outstanding results from using just Logic Audio for MIDI and audio. Pro recording studios, and audio-centric sound pros (whatever that means) usu. use a combination of Pro Tools and Logic Audio (that is what is normal, they also substitute Cubase or another Big MIDI app™ for Logic Audio on occasion...or use both)
    Logic's direct competition is Cubase and Digital Performer
    Protools' direct competition is... I don't remember right now, but there are a few out there.

    In terms of MIDI ability/Audio ability
    Pro Tools 2/10
    Logic 10/4

    Saying Pro Tools competes wif Logic is analagous to that commercial where a guy hooks his Chevy Tracker up to a stalled Semi. Or similar to comparing Sonic Foundry's Acid Pro and iMovie.

    Not trying to be mouthy, 'just want to set the record straight.
    -trev
     
  16. macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #16
    Yeah that's correct. Many Producers use Logic as a front end for ProTools so they really share a symbiotic relationship. Logic has great integration with TDM.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    Scotland
    #17
    Likewise, but I have to disagree with you ... Logic Platinum has very sophisticated audio recording, editing, arranging, realtime processing, mixing and automation functions. Provided your hardware - computer and interface are up to the job, you can run large multitrack projects no problem from start to finish.

    Of course, Logic is composition oriented and has extensive midi facilities, and an absolutely kick ass set of virtual instruments, including synths, samplers, vocoders and some top notch vintage modelled emulations - hammond, rhodes and clavinet.

    There's no doubt that ProTools is a great piece of software, but if you want all round pro level flexibility your best bet is often to use Digidesign's hardware and let Logic be the front end (instead of ProTools).

    Its worth noting that with version 5.0 thru 6.0 Logic has acquired some features that bring a "familiar" automation system, the marquee selection tool, project management, video playback from firewire drives, mp3 import/export *and* some great cpu management tools, which close the gap in areas where some ProTools users tended to shy away from using Logic.

    http://www.emagic.de/products/ls/ls/index.php?lang=EN

    ..... if you want to know more

    (and I would rescore Logic as 10/10 :)

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #18
    Logic has strong audio features. MIDI may be it's claim to fame, but it has enjoyed improved audio handling over the years, and has been positioned for growth in the audio market. Thus, Logic is studied side-by-side with PT in the DAW courses at the recording school I attend.

    Dan
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #19
    Yep, great software, but school is different than a pro studio.
    But... now that Apple has it maybe they can develop some hardware to go with Logic?
    Hey if it's better than Protools and its less money,I'm ready!!
    daniel
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #20
    Depends on your needs. I have had great success using Logic to record a 5 piece band. It may not have all the features PT has, but it is absolutely a contender.

    I also find the interface to be more useable.

    Dan
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    just wanted to inform those that weren't aware that you can get Logic Platinum 6 for $499 if you are a student. the student price is the same as the competitive upgrade price. also, logic 6 includes both os9 and os x versions. i'll probably pick it up soon as i'm still using logic 4.8. the emagic site says that you can get the student/competitive upgrade price from any authorized dealer if you call, but i thought i'd include a link to one that actually posts the price online. :)

    http://www.prostudiomusic.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=PM&Product_Code=LGAPLT5ED
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #22
  23. macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #23

    so you mean that i put up with springcleanings attitude for NOTHING :D

    thank you Nepenthe, thats the best laydown of music software that i heard.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    Scotland
    #24
    Indeed... its just a bit unfortunate that its seriously inaccurate.

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #25
    Okay, what's so inaccurate about what he said? It's a little weak to just say something is inaccurate and not give one reason why. I think he gave a reasonably accurate assessment of the differences between ProTools and Logic. I think his numerical ratings of audio/midi capeablilities are a little exaggerated, but it's pretty much true.

    If you have a differing opinion, then enlighten us.
     

Share This Page