Logic Pro 9 in Mavericks?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by BigRed1, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Dec 13, 2011
    Does anyone have Logic Pro 9 working in Mavericks? Any new issues?
  2. macrumors newbie

    Oct 23, 2013
    Not so far works perfectly! They just released the 10.0.4 for it too so I'm pretty sure its stable. :)
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dec 13, 2011
    Are you running 9 or X or both? Thanks!
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Aug 17, 2012
    i'd love to hear about 9 in mavericks. i'm not ready to switch to X yet - or even ML.

    right now everything works… (10.7.5).
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dec 13, 2011
    It's not an immediate issue for me. My Mac mini won't run Mavericks, but I really don't want to have to spend another $200 on top of a computer upgrade just to keep my current software if Logic 9 won't run on the new machine.
  6. macrumors newbie

    Oct 23, 2013
    I have both 9 and X and they both run fine on Mavericks. I don't know why, but I am always using Logic 9 more than X. I guess its just an issue with me adjusting to the new look (even though not much has changed except the transport bar).


    I would stick with 9 for a while...most of the things in 9 are still the same in X. Mavericks, on the other hand, is a rockin' for me - especially since it is a free download. It gave my MBP an extra hour of battery life from ML. ::eek:
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dec 13, 2011
    Thank you! That's quite a relief for me...
  8. macrumors 65816


    Jun 23, 2012
    West Chester, OH
    I can confirm 9 is working in Mavericks. Mavericks is awesome!
  9. macrumors newbie

    Nov 7, 2013
    Logic Pro 9 Lagging in Mavericks

    My Logic Pro 9 is really lagging in Mavericks...I can hear my production but cannot see any scroll in the arrangement area and no visual volume meters in the mixer area. GRRRR!!!!
    I have an iMAC, 21.5-inch, Mid 2010, Processor 3.06 GHz Intel Core i3, Memory 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3, Graphics ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB
    Currently running Logic Pro 9 on OS X 10.9....Please Help!!!
  10. macrumors newbie

    Nov 8, 2013
    I have Macbook Pro Late 2011, 8 Gb of RAM, and Logic 9 runs significantly worse under Mavericks. Say, I press "Sends" drop-down menu in the Channel Strip, the menu appears and gets frozen for 5-10 seconds, and I can't really do anything during this time and have to wait until it un-freezes. I also encountered problems with dragging notes in Piano Roll -- when I was dragging a note, it wasn't visible until it is released (very inconvenient). Same happened to audio and MIDI regions -- you start to copy-drag something and can't see where you're gonna drop it. I guess I would downgrade back to previous OSX version if it wasn't so much hassle, since the Logic 9 is the program I use really a lot (and I don't want to move on onto Logic X).
  11. macrumors newbie

    Jan 11, 2014
    Issues with Logic Pro 9 In Mavericks

    Ahh... I wish it was smooth! Since 'upgrading' to Mavericks, Logic has started to exhibit a host of problems for me. After a certain amount of time using the program, I often get increasingly aggressive audio glitches until I have to restart my iMac. Once a project is using a large amount of CPU & RAM, I get the same 'freezing' problem as mentioned by another poster here. And once every few days, it randomly gives me a spinning beach ball of death, and I have to restart the computer.

    I have already lost some work to this last problem, and as a whole these issues, combined with no actual improvements whatsoever from a professional standpoint, mean that using the new OSX has damaged my productivity.

    Based on the really positive early feedback on Mavericks, I broke a crucial rule of using a computer for professional purposes; namely - NEVER update your OS without a few months of waiting, and some trusted opinions. I can see that not too many people are having these problems, but all that does is turn upgrading from suicide to Russian roulette.
  12. macrumors 68000

    Feb 21, 2012
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    I am still on Logic 9 and 10.8. No plans to upgrade either. ;)
  13. macrumors newbie

    Mar 18, 2014
    logic pro 9 in mavericks

    upgraded last night to mavericks .all the sudden crazy latency issues..went from lowest buffer size to highest..everything seems like its lagging..mac book pro late 2012 model 8 gigs i5 64 bit
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dec 13, 2011
    Strange, it's really working fine for me on a 2009 mac mini, base model 8 gigs, SSHD. I'm running an Apogee. Could it be a problem with your audio device?
  15. macrumors G5


    Jul 29, 2011
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    I had a few issues with 9 under Mavericks but managed to wangle a free upgrade to X. No issues now
  16. macrumors 6502

    Mar 11, 2010
    Berlin formerly London
    I'm not going anywhere near "Mav" for a while, don't see the need.

    I have L9 and LX working in ML 10.8.5 perfectly, in either 32 or 64bit
    modes which is very cool.

    Getting used to "X" won't take long, it's all there just looks a little different.

    There is also the free "Logic Themes" which has become a bit of a cool thing.

    "Theme switcher" was released from a clever guy in the US, so now Logic X
    can look like an SSL or like pro tools or Ableton OR even Logic 9 !!

    Here's a link : http://lts.coldpressgroup.com

    I have tried around 8 themes and settled on one that was close to normal X
    but just a little lighter and easier to read etc.


Share This Page