Logic Pro X Updated With Improved 12-Core Mac Pro Support, App Enhancements and Fixes

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, May 13, 2014.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple today updated its professional audio software Logic Pro X to version 10.0.7, adding support for 24 processing threads on 12-core Mac Pro models along with several new features to enhance the functionality of the app and an array of bug fixes.

    [​IMG]
    Logic Pro X 10.0.7 can be downloaded from the Mac App Store for $199.99. [Direct Link]

    Article Link: Logic Pro X Updated With Improved 12-Core Mac Pro Support, App Enhancements and Fixes
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #2
    Ok, Xcode is next! Right???
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #3
    That should make some Logic users happy (who are getting beat up by other DAW users, ehem Cubase users)
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    UCD, Ireland
    #4
    Finally! The great wait is over!
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #5
    Probably at WWDC.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #6
    I personally don't understand the idea of using 12 cores for Logic (or any music software), but I suppose it's not for me.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    dannys1

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Then you've obviously never used music software with multiple plugins. CPU gets eaten up FAST.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #8
    Just did a quick test of an XML file from Final Cut X. Looks like they may be on the way to getting it working. Haven't had a chance to round-trip it yet, but so far so good.

    tg
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #9
    Nice, would like to hear more about this. Please post results of round-tripping if you can.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #10
    I wish I could get just a little understanding of how Apple prioritizes its updates.
     
  11. Editor emeritus

    longofest

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    #11
    I wouldn't put it that dramatically. I did 96k/24bit recording on a quad core G5 a while back and would run nearly 30 real time effects - reverbs, compressors/limiters/gates, the usual. I can't recall the CPU going above 50% capacity.

    That was an 9 year old machine, and I have to say peeking back in on the digital audio industry, not a lot has changed. Most of the prosumer gear is still 96k/24bit while the pro studios go for 196kHz, but that was around back in 2005 as well. The one thing that has changed is that desktop and mobile CPUs have gotten a ton more powerful with more and more cores.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #12
    Supporting 24 processing threads on 12-core Mac Pro models is pretty cool, however not sure about this affecting a lot of people at this point? But WOW thats a bit list of changes on the full release notes!

    Will be interesting to see if they have fixed the automation problems.

    :apple:
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #13
    Cubase is as reliable as a pensioner's heartbeat. ProTools for audio, Logic for MIDI/AUs. Cubase's support with older OSs is nothing short of appalling and I'm surprised people even use it for anything these days.
     
  14. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #14
    It's not rocket science, there are people doing sessions that are big and beefy enough to use that much CPU power. Most people have no idea how demanding audio apps can be.

    That's a meaningless number since even within the same plugin category some plugins require vastly more power than others. Some you can run hundreds, others bog a machine with only a handful. One example, try running Diva in the highest quality setting.

    Release notes:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4498
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #15
    Let's hope Aperture gets some attention next.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    #16
    Latency. Try recording a guitar track with a 1024 buffer, it's horrible. More CPU = smaller buffer = less latency.

    ----------

    I use Cubase all the time. The latest update is rock solid.
     
  17. Editor emeritus

    longofest

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    #17


    Kind of... its true that you need CPU cycles to deal with I/O, but unless you're running input effects (i can't imagine why) then the input buffer size is more constrained by how your machine is sized for I/O - what your RAM and disk throughput looks like.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #18
    I still remember this 1st rule in composition... if with 4 tracks does not sound, with 64 neither.

    I try to keep my pieces as simple as they can get even I do trance and techno music. I really like to write things from my 12" Powerbook! But I like a good mic, a good preamp and good monitoring. In my iMac I have Logic an I love the arpeggiator. But still, the magic starts at the arrangement.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    djtech42

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    #19
    Very true! I had a project with 110 software instrument tracks on my Core 2 Duo iMac, and it got overloaded many times.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #20
    If by "Input effects" you mean "effects processing for live guitars, vocals, etc." then…well, hopefully that answers your question.

    No-one who is a serious user of audio production applications has any question about the benefits of greater CPU power. As CPU power increases, we are asking more of our plug-ins in terms of both functionality and fidelity. I don't see that slowing down any time soon.
     
  21. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #21
    No, 10.9.3 at the end of May.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #22
    I just bought a pair of Beats headphones so now I can make some chart topping hits
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #23
    Agreed, the only pro-app I actually use.

    ----------

    I'd like xCode to support other programming languages, especially PHP natively and without a plugin.
     
  24. grayter1, May 13, 2014
    Last edited: May 13, 2014

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #24
    I've had a chance to play with it more. Apple fixed a lot, but there's still some general weirdness going on. 'Roles' come through great now - if you remembered to define them before you export the XML.

    Any audio mixed in FCPX comes in as automation in Logic.

    The funkiness comes with the conversion of stereo music tracks placed in FCPX. When opened as an XML in Logic X, the tracks are converted to mono tracks, but the audio file itself remains stereo (on a mono track). You have to hit the Input button to 're-assign' it as a stereo track. After that, I deleted the second mono track (holding a stereo file) and went about my business.

    Maybe I'm missing something, but that's odd.

    The round-trip works. I was able to clean up the audio mix for college project that my son did, and send it back to FCPX as an XML export.

    Overall it's an improvement from where it was before the update. I could see myself using Logic to score and fix dialouge a bit more. It ain't Pro Tools, but it never will be.

    tg
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #25
    What else has changed is that now you have plugins that chew that extra CPU power and spit it out. Try running a few instances of acustica's nebula on modern hardware. The other trend these days is to put some form of channel strip emuation on every channel of a project. Combine it with modern projects that are well over 60 tracks, multiple plugins per track, and you have a situation that is quite different to what you would have experienced on your G5.
     

Share This Page