logic production advice

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by loci, Mar 14, 2006.

1. loci macrumors newbie

hey,

as nearly all these post start: i'm new to logic,
    have been recording an album and it's going fine... however, i want to make sure i get the best mix and production sound to it all - i know there's a bunch of compressors and EQs i can apply but as i've not done it before and there are large numbers of audio tracks per song i wondered if anyone had any advice on how best to go about getting a good shine to the finished product?

i thank you!

2. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

Sadly that's an almost impossible question to answer in a forum...

My advice would be to get enrolled on a good evening or part-time course at a local studio or college and learn about compression and EQ, mixing is an art that takes many years of practice to learn properly, you can't learn it out of a book.

Many people will have tips about mixing and all the component issues, but the fact is that there is no template to a mix, every single one is different and has it's own unique characteristics.

You could do worse than get friendly with local studios and ask if you can observe their processes, don't go looking for "work experience" you'll be in a queue...

My personal bottom line is the "can't polish a turd" maxim, which means that your source tracks have to be as good as possible to make the mix really happen, "fix it in the mix" is a poor approach in my book, but works for others.

Good luck.

3. loci thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks, i appreciate the advice, i was thinking of enrolling on a class and i reckon probably will now... now, how to condense years worth of training into a couple of weeks! ;)

4. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

personally, i'm not really a big fan of plug-ins. i use up my hardware first before resorting to plugs. as wintermute said, it's a question of experience. mix skills have little to do with your DAW.