login items

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by dualburn001, May 5, 2002.

  1. dualburn001 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    #1
    I was just wondering what items do you have automatically start-up when you turn on your computer. For me it's the Norton check and IE.
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Just the CPU Monitor for me, I don't bother booting 'Classic' anymore either.
     
  3. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    I have iTuness, an app i wrote to clean up my desktop, dock and HD and thats about it!

    Ensign
     
  4. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
  5. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #5
    just the magic menu from aladdin stuffit, and the logitech control center daemon.

    There, that was simple :p
     
  6. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #6
    MOX Optimize and Shadow Killer

    Kill those shadoes! They eat up percious CPU cycles!
     
  7. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    Anyone know how to make those shaddows smaller?

    Ensign
     
  8. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #8
    Only on or off. Shadow killer turns them on or off. It's freeware and speeds up window operations.
     
  9. Durandal7 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #9
    I don't even have classic on auto-boot anymore. Now that Photoshop X is here I see no point to boot up anything on login.
     
  10. stromie952 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #10
    At this point I am not having anything launch on login. I did it before with Classic, but it got annoying when I stopped using Classic programs. :D
     
  11. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    When it launches on login, do you then have to kill the app, or do you just leave it hidden?
     
  12. Wildcat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    #12
    Stickies and the mail app. I hide the mail app though.
     
  13. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #13
    Unfortuneatly, you have to have it visible so you can turn off the shadows, then quit the program. But the whole process takes like 3 secs.

    The less rendering the better. I turned off the transparency (opacity 100%) on my menus, but i think killing the shadows helps the most.

    I believe I've said this before, but there's a script to make/close 1K windows, that bechmarks the time it takes. The biggest speed increase was with shadows turned off. Sppeding the system up is always better— give those CPU cycles to someone who need them! Apple doesn't always know best.

    I'd like to turn off all the Aqua goodies, but they're so pretty! :)
     
  14. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #14
    DragThing and stickies. I've been doing this for years, and I'll probably get rid of them when I go to OSX permanently.
     
  15. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #15
    I boot classic (but I never use it... dunno why I boot it) and SetiDockling
     
  16. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #16
    Use windowshadeX you can make the shadows smaller or larger its kinda handy
     
  17. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #17
    same here, nothing!
     
  18. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #18
    nothing

    at home my mom's login starts with classic going... but to me, even once it's been started and shut down, the comp just runs slower until it's restarted. classic ruins the speed. however, she's taking some time to convert to os x so at least it's a compromise
     
  19. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #19
    I only boot Apple works. Don't ask me why I just do.
     
  20. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #20
    The folding@home client....then I can run the SETI screensaver and folding when I'm not around...I don't even have OS9 anymore so obviously I don't noot classic...
     

Share This Page