Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mathfantasia

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 23, 2009
I did some searches of Macrumors and didn't find what I was looking for. So here's my problem:

I've had some experience in coding with 6 or so apps on the Mac and iOS stores, but from what I know this is a tough subject. I am looking for a good tutorial about login security and how an iOS app can use a login/pw combo to connect to my online server, send my server data, and have that data stored for future use. I have had different people say different things. "Oh just look up such-and-such security algorithm and do it yourself." to "Bad security can lead to stolen passwords / accounts not just on your server but on the user's other online logins also. Do NOT try it by yourself."

I am storing achievement data for an educational quiz / game type site. The data is not critical, but it would be nice if nothing too bad happened.

Thanks, Macrumors!

Mascots

macrumors 68000
Sep 5, 2009
I'm going to say there isn't a single right way, but there are definitely wrong ways.

Personally, I'd go SSL/TLS route to wrap a rest API since that is relatively straight forward, I've had success with that in the past, there are good amounts of information, high quality documentation, and nice feature set available to your disposal.

AxoNeuron

macrumors 65816
Apr 22, 2012
The Left Coast
The best way is to combine multiple approaches. It's actually really easy and simple to make a highly secure login system, I would never tell people they shouldn't do it themselves. Most of it is just common sense. Make it so that even if the hacker gains complete access to your database, they still can't get any passwords.

Definitely use HTTPS/TLS for app to server communication.